Australia Day Honours

The Australia Day Honours offers a way for the country to celebrate its best people.  We congratulate alumni of The Australian National University who received recognition in the Australia Day Honours and we take great pride in their service to the wider community.

This year's recipients

Tanya Barden OAM
Bec '94, BA '94
For service to business, and to the community.
Sally Bryant PSM
Bec '86
For outstanding public service to Legal Aid New South Wales, particularly during the 2019-2020 bushfires.
Stephen Byron AM
Bcomm '92, LLB '93 GDLP '94
For significant service to the aviation infrastructure sector, and to tourism.
Paul Craft AM
MPoplnHlth '95
For significant service to medicine, to oncology, and to professional organisations.
John Evans OAM
BSc(Hons) '72
For service to bushwalking, and to the community.
Jill Guthrie AM
BA '95, MAppEpid '00
For significant service to Indigenous health, and to justice reinvestment policy.
Marion Healy PSM
BSc(Hons) '78 PhD '86
For outstanding public service to policy and regulatory practice including in the areas of food, chemicals and plant biosecurity.
Rachel Henry PSM
Bpsych '03
For outstanding public service to the development and implementation of the National Consumer Protection Framework for Online Wagering.
Gary Hooker CSC
Bec '85
ACT Rural Fire Service
Mark Huxley PSM
BA '99
For outstanding public service to education in the Australian Capital Territory.
Philip Laird OAM
MSc '70
For service to the rail freight and passenger transport industry.
Douglas Marmion PSM
PhD '11
For outstanding public service through the strengthening of Indigenous language infrastructure.
John McDonald OAM
BSc (Forestry) '76
For service to the sustainable timber sector, and to the community.
Sam Mostyn AO
BA '86, LLB '89, HonLLD '18
For distinguished service to business and sustainability, and to the community, through seminal contributions to a range of organisations, and to women.
Colleen Nelson AM
PhD '90
For significant service to medical research, particularly to prostate cancer, and to health organisations.
Daryl Quinlivan AO
Bec '86
For distinguished service to public administration through leadership roles in the areas of agriculture, water and the environment.
Andrew Todd PSM
BA '81
For outstanding public service through the development and implementation of Australian Government policy on consular matters, and the response to offshore crises.
Stephen Tubby CSC
Master of Military and Defence '13
For outstanding achievement in education and training development for the Australian Defence Force.
Naomi van der Linden CSC
Master of Military and Defence '15
For outstanding achievement in ethics and leadership development and delivery for the Australian Defence Force as Acting Director of the Centre for Defence Leadership and Ethics.
Jenny Wilkinson PSM
BEc '89
For outstanding public service in the development of fiscal policy, particularly in the formulation of the Australian Government's economic response to COVID-19.
Frances M. Devlin-Glass OAM
PhD '75
For Services to Education and the Irish Community.
Hilary Louise Rubinstein OAM
PhD - History '80
For service to community history through a range of roles
Page owner: Alumni