2020 Queen's Birthday Honours recipients

Professor Walter Abhayaratna OAM
DrPH 2010
For service to medicine in the Australian Capital Territory.
Dr Michael Banyard OAM
PhD 1980
For service to veterinary science.
Ms Frances Cassidy AM
BA 1981
For significant service to Australia-United States of America cultural and business relations.
Professor Bruce Chapman AM AO
BEc 1974
For distinguished service to higher education, particularly in the field of economics and public policy, and to professional societies.
Mr Andrew Robert De Fegely AM
BSc (Forestry) (1979)
For significant service to the forestry industry through business and advisory roles.
Mr Paul Deighton CSC
Master of Military and Defence 2013
For outstanding achievement in language training reform, development and delivery as Commanding Officer of the Defence Force School of Languages.
Dr Frances Devlin-Glass OAM
PhD 1975
For service to education, and to the Irish community.
Mr Phillip Ellsmore CSC
Master of Military and Defence 2017
For outstanding achievement modernising and streamlining Army capabilities in digital communications and career management.
Dr Karen George AM
MA 1989
For significant service to history preservation and research, and to professional associations.
Mr Leo Hardiman PSM
BComm 1989, LLB 1991
For outstanding public service through the provision of legal services to the Commonwealth.
Emeritus Professor Ian Harper FASSA FAICD AO
MEc 1979, PhD 1982
For distinguished service to education in the field of economics, and to public and monetary policy development and reform.
Professor Marcia Langton AM AO FASSA
BA 1984, HonLittD 2019
For distinguished service to tertiary education, and as an advocate for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
Mr Alfred McCarthy OAM
BComm 1958
For service to the community of Yass.
Lieutenant Colonel Clare O'Neill CSC
Master of Military and Defence 2018
For outstanding achievement in the field of Professional Military Education and strategic engagement.
Lieutenant Colonel Neil Peake CSC
Master of Military Studies 2012
For outstanding achievement as the Commanding Officer of the 10th Force Support Battalion.
Dr Christine Phillips AM
GradDipArts 1999, MA 1999, Doctor of Medicine 2017
For significant service to medical education, to migrant and refugee health, and to medicine.
Ms Iva Quarisa OAM
BSc 1991, GradDipSc 1993
For service to primary industry, particularly to irrigation management.
Mr Benjamin Shaw CSM
Master of Military and Defence 2016
For meritorious achievement as the Principal Logistics Staff Officer at Headquarters Joint Task Force 633 in the Middle East from September 2018 to July 2019.
Lieutenant Colonel Matthew Smith AM
Master of Military Studies 2012
For significant service to orthopaedic medicine as a surgeon, and to medical administration.
Dr Lisa Strelein PSM
PhD 1999
For outstanding public service to improving awareness across the Australian Public Service of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture, and to the debate on native title.
Ms Ruth Weir CSC
Master of Military and Defence 2014
For outstanding achievement as the Current Plans Operations Officer at Headquarters 1st Division and Deployable Joint Force Headquarters during the period 2018 to 2019.
Page owner: Alumni