ANU IDEA Oversight Committee

The ANU IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Access) Oversight Committee reviews, approves and makes recommendations to the Vice-Chancellor on matters relating to the institutional effort to achieving inclusion, diversity, equity and access (IDEA) within ANU as part of the ANU IDEA Governance Framework. The ANU IDEA Governance Framework takes a whole-of-community approach to fostering excellence in the creation of a respectful and healthy working, learning and living environment for students, staff and visitors.

The ANU IDEA Oversight Committee creates a clear governance authority and leadership accountability which will support the implementation of IDEA initiatives

Terms of reference

The Committee's responsibilities, subject to revision by Vice-Chancellor, are:-

  • developing, implementing, monitoring and resourcing strategies and action plans related to IDEA, including the ANU Reconciliation Action Plan, the SAGE Athena SWAN Action Plan, the Healthy University Strategy and Action Plan inclusive of the Mental Health Action Plan, the Disability Action Plan, the Social Inclusion and Diversity Action Plan, the Respectful Relationships Action Plan and the Family Friendly Action Plan.
  • commissioning reports and gathering additional data on IDEA initiatives;
  • prioritising IDEA activity;
  • advocating for IDEA within the ANU community and beyond;
  • providing a forum to facilitate information flow and debate within the University and between senior executive officers and the wider University community;
  • providing feedback and advice on IDEA implications of policies, programs and services;
  • the Chair is authorised, where necessary, to take executive action on behalf of the Committee between meetings and must report to the Committee as soon as practicable on any executive action taken.


Category Member Term expiry
Chief Operating Officer Mr Paul Duldig Ex-officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student and University Experience) Professor Ian Anderson AO
Director, Tjabal Indigenous Higher Education Centre or nominee Ms Anne Martin
Director, National Centre of Indigenous Studies or nominee Associate Professor Asmi Wood
Director, Human Resources or nominee Dr Nadine White
Director, Facilities and Services or nominee Ms Nicki Middleton Ex-officio
Director, Strategic Communications and Public Affairs Mr Edward O’Daly Ex-officio
Convenor, ANU Gender Institute or nominee Associate Professor Fiona Jenkins
Director, Residential Experience or nominee TBC Ex-officio
Dean of Staff or nominee Associate Professor Keturah Whitford
Dean of Students or nominee Associate Professor Miriam Gani
President of the Postgraduate and Research Students' Association Inc or nominee TBC Ex-officio
President of the Australian National University Students' Association Inc or nominee TBC Ex-officio
Dean, Higher Degree by Research or nominee Dr Anne Evans Ex-officio
Dean of each ANU College Professor Rae Frances
ANU College of Arts & Social Sciences or nominee
ANU College of Asia & the Pacific or nominee Ex-officio
Professor Steven Roberts
ANU College of Business & Economics or nominee
22 Jul 2017
Professor Elanor Huntington
ANU College of Engineering & Computer Science or nominee
Professor Sally Wheeler OBE
ANU College of Law or nominee
Professor Russell Gruen
ANU College of Health & Medicine or nominee
Professor Kiaran Kirk
ANU College of Science or nominee


Date & location
Wednesday 6 Nov, 9.55am
Mills Room, Chancelry Building
Date & location Deadlines
Thursday 5 Mar, 9.55am
Mills Room, Chancelry Building
IDEA Oversight Committee
19 Feb
Thursday 2 Jul, 9.55am
Mills Room, Chancelry Building
IDEA Oversight Committee
24 Jun
Thursday 19 Nov, 1.55pm
Mills Room, Chancelry Building
IDEA Oversight Committee
11 Nov
Page owner: Executive Office