Our success starts with our alumni whose achievements are a direct reflection on our standing as one of the best education and research institutions in the world. Many have gone on to prominence. They have made – and continue to make – their marks and achieve excellence in a variety of fields such as business, medicine, arts, and the government.

Know of someone we should profile? Send us an email with details and we’ll follow up.

Magistrate Louise Taylor BA ‘01, LLB ‘01 »

2019 Indigenous Alumna of the Year Louise has been awarded the 2019 Indigenous Alumna of the Year Award for the impact of her contribution to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander rights and access to justice for women in the community. She is the...

Alexandra Clare LLB ‘12 »

2019 Young Alumna of the Year Alexandra has been awarded the 2019 Young Alumna of the Year Award for her contribution to humanitarian advocacy through creating opportunities for youth in conflict-affected countries across the Middle East. She is...

Lauren Dreyar JD ‘18 »

2019 Student Volunteer of the Year (Postgraduate) Lauren has been awarded the 2019 Student Volunteer of the Year (Postgraduate) Award for her volunteer efforts to provide assistance to people in need in Canberra.

Hannah Gadsby BA ‘03 »

2019 Alumna of the Year Hannah has been awarded the 2019 ANU Alumna of the Year Award for the impact of her work on the public discourse around respect and inclusion. Hannah Gadsby is a Tasmanian-born, internationally-renowned comedian who studied...

James Connolly BAS ‘18, LLB '19 »

2019 Student Volunteer of the Year (Undergraduate) James has been awarded the 2019 Student Volunteer of the Year (Undergraduate) Award for his work and advocacy in creating a safer and more supportive University campus.

Sir Mike Brady FRS PhD ‘70 »

2019 International Alumnus of the Year Mike has been awarded the 2019 International Alumnus of the Year Award for his contribution to science, particularly the impact of his medical research on diagnostic imaging patients worldwide. He is an...

Lauren Booth PhB (Hon) ‘18 & Morgan Marshall BA '18, Bsc'18 »

2019 Vice-Chancellor's Commendation - Student Volunteer of the Year (Undergraduate) Lauren and Morgan are recognised for their efforts to improving gender equity in STEM, through providing professional development opportunities for young women.
Kathryn Cooper

Kathryn Cooper LLB (Hons) ’05, BA ‘05 »

Kathryn Cooper is highly attuned to the complementarities between Australian and American work cultures. Currently the Executive Director of the American Australian Business Council (AABC), Kathryn first moved to New York to work for the...
Anthony Murfett Questacon

Anthony Murfett BSc ‘02 »

Anthony Murfett is the Deputy Head of the newly established Australian Space Agency, the public service agency responsible for developing Australia's space industry. As the Deputy Head of an agency that aims to triple the size of the Australian...
Daniel Moss

Daniel Moss BA '89 »

Daniel Moss is a columnist for 'Bloomberg Opinion' and a Director of the ANU Foundation USA. Previously he was Executive Editor of 'Bloomberg News' for global economics and has led teams in Asia, Europe and North America. As a globe-trotting...
Dr Jodie Ward

Dr Jodie Ward PhD '07, BSc (Hon) '03 »

The Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence Awards recognises women who are championing change in business and society, have dedicated their time and energy to help and encourage other women in their industry, and are fighting for change...
Louise Taylor

Louise Taylor LLB '01, BA '01 »

Magistrate Louise Taylor was recently appointed the ACT's newest Magistrate and the first Aboriginal judicial officer. Louise is a Kamilaroi woman who graduated from ANU with a combined Arts Law degree in 2001. Louise initially came to ANU as her...
Martin Bureau

Martin Bureau PhD '99 »

Before Martin Bureau became a leading expert on the formation and evolution of galaxies at the University of Oxford, he was taught how to brew beer by none other than ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt. Originally from Canada, Martin...
Ian Douglas

Ian Douglas PhD '67 »

As an undergraduate at Oxford in the 1960s, Ian Douglas became enthusiastic about studying geomorphology in the humid tropics for a PhD. "My geomorphology tutor suggested that one of the places to achieve my goal might be ANU. I was lucky enough to...

Conor Horgan BEn (R&D) (Hon) '15 »

From Bermuda to Australia to the UK, CECS Bachelor of Engineering (R&D) alumnus Conor Horgan has travelled far globally and professionally.  When Conor was 11, he moved from Bermuda to Melbourne. He came to Canberra after high-school to pursue...
Michael Moore - Alumni Spotlight

Michael Moore »

Michael Moore is CEO of the Public Health Association of Australia, President of the World Federation of Public Health Associations and a former Minister of Health and Community Care in the ACT Government. He has a Master of Population Health (1997...
Sam Cheah - Alumni Spotlight

Sam Cheah »

Sam Cheah has a Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) (2015) from ANU where she was also a Tillyard Prize recipient. Sam cofounded Engage: University Outreach, a Canberra based not for profit for high school students in regional areas. She is also involved...
Alumni Spotlight - Georgina Vallance

Georgina Vallance »

Georgina Vallance is a Senior Consultant with EY with a Graduate Diploma of Legal Practice (2014), a Bachelor of Asia-Pacific Studies (2013) and a Bachelor of Law (Hons) (2013) from ANU. She is the 2016 ACT Poetry Slam Champion and a Council Member...
Anthony Moore BA'15 on graduation day

Anthony Moore »

Despite growing up in Canberra, there were still some aspects about ANU that surprised Anthony Moore when he commenced his Bachelor of Arts degree. "I was surprised by what an actively engaged and intellectual community it was and still is. I...
Francesca Maclean

Dr Francesca Maclean  »

2018 Student Volunteer of the Year (Postgraduate) During her time at ANU, Francesca Maclean has been a champion for gender equity in STEM. She co-founded Fifty50, a student-run volunteer organisation that develops an equitable and inclusive...