2023 ANU Alumni Awards: seven extraordinary alumni shaping a better world

29 Nov 2023

The Australian National University (ANU) has announced the 2023 recipients of its prestigious ANU Alumni Awards, honouring seven extraordinary alumni.

The awardees serve as an inspiration to current and future generations, embodying the University's ethos of excellence, leadership, and service to their communities.

Honoured for their exceptional achievements during reception held at the heritage Hyatt Hotel Canberra on 27 November, it gives us great pleasure to share the 2023 ANU Alumni Award recipients.

Alumnus of the Year: HE the Hon Dr Kevin Rudd AC

HE the Hon Dr Kevin Rudd AC (BA (Asian Studies) (Hons) ’81, HonLLD ’16), is recognised for his unparalleled dedication to diplomacy, exceptional leadership in global governance and commitment to fostering international cooperation and progress. His foundation in international affairs, built during his time at ANU, continues to shape his 2023 appointment as Australia's Ambassador to the United States.

Young Alumna of the Year: Sophia Hamblin Wang

Sophia Hamblin Wang (BIntBus (Hons) ’09), joint-recipient of ANU Young Alumna of the Year, is recognised for her ground-breaking work, developing technology that safely captures and converts industrial CO2 emissions into solid building materials.

Young Alumna of the Year: Sophie Trevitt

The late Sophie Trevitt (JD ’16, MLLP ’19), joint-recipient of the ANU Young Alumna of the Year, is remembered for her tireless advocacy for social justice, particularly in fighting for the rights of incarcerated Indigenous children.

Indigenous Alumna of the Year: Professor Marcia Langton AO FASSA FTSE

Professor Marcia Langton (BA ’84, HonLittD ’19) is recipient of the ANU Indigenous Alumna of the Year, for her pivotal role in advancing Indigenous rights in Australia – most recently, advocating for the establishment of a constitutionally enshrined Voice to Parliament.

International Alumna of the Year: Dr Suharti

Dr Suharti (PhD ’13), the ANU International Alumna of the Year, and is honoured for her transformative work in Indonesian education and governance, and for implementing evidence-driven policies and championing gender equality in her home country of Indonesia.

Student Volunteer of the Year (Postgraduate): Sharrada Segeran

Recognising exemplary commitment to community service, Sharrada Segeran is recognised as this year’s ANU Student Volunteer of the Year (Postgraduate) for her substantial work establishing the Mind Matters Network and increasing mental health literacy in Malaysia.

Student Volunteer of the Year (Undergraduate): Tom Gibbs

An Honours student at the John Curtin School of Medical Research, Tom Gibbs’ commitment to volunteering with St John Ambulance ACT, North Canberra Hospital, and Canberra NightCrew, and is recognised as ANU Student Volunteer of the Year (Undergraduate) for his dedication to ensuring community safety and health.

As outstanding leaders, change-makers, entrepreneurs and social advocates, ANU alumni create lasting change in the world and inspire our next generation of students. Their diverse accomplishments underscore the power of education, leadership, and unwavering dedication to shaping a better world.

Page Owner: Alumni