Dr Anne-Marie Schwirtlich AM

BA(Hons) (Macquarie), DipIM (NSW), FAHA, FIPAA

Anne-Marie Schwirtlich served as the Director-General of the National Library of Australia between 2011 and 2017. She previously held the following positions: Chief Executive Officer and State Librarian at the State Library of Victoria (2003-2011); Acting Director-General at the National Archives of Australia (2000-2003); Assistant Director-General, Public and Reader Services at the National Archives of Australia (1998-2000); Acting Director, Australian Collections and Information Services at the National Library of Australia (1998); Director, Access and Information Services at the National Archives of Australia (1995-1998) and Senior Curator, Printed and Written Records, and Art (1988-1994) at the Australian War Memorial.

She served as a Member (2003-2017) and as Chair (2004-2006) of the National and State Libraries Australasia; as President of the Australian Society of Archivists (1989-1990) and has been a Fellow since 1992. She has served on the National Collections Heritage Committee, the Australia-China Council (Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade), and is the Deputy Chair of the Art Exhibitions Australia Board. She serves as a member of the Selection Panel for the Tuckwell Scholarship.

In 1993 she was awarded the inaugural Laureate of the Australian Society of Archivists, for outstanding service to the Society. In 2008 she was made a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia, Victoria. She was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2015, for significant service to the library and archives sector through leadership roles at state and national levels, and to professional information management organisations. In 2016 she was awarded the Ifould Award by the State Library of New South Wales for her distinguished service to Australian libraries and archives and leadership within the cultural sector; and the Redmond Barry Award by the Australian Library and Information Association for her outstanding contribution to the library and information sector in Australia.  In 2016, she was also elected as an Honorary Fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.