Roll of honour

ANU recognises the exceptional scholarship, citizenship or services of our friends, partners and mentors. The University also bestows emeritus and honorary titles on staff and supporters who have contributed notably to the University.

Emeritus Fellows

Emeritus Fellows are distinguished staff members (academic and general) who have not been Professors but who are deemed to have made a distinguished contribution to the University deserving of recognition.
  • John Douglas Fitz Gerald (1980–2011)
  • Robert Gingold (1981–2007)
  • Ronald James May (1972–2004)
  • Colin Robert Steele (1976–2003)
  • Dr David Christopher Happold (1976–1997)

Honorary University Fellows

Honorary University Fellows are people who have not been staff members but who are deemed to have given significant meritorious service to the University.
  • Ian Francis Grigg

Honorary graduates

Here you can browse through our list of honorary graduates and learn about their distinguished achievements.

Award key

  • HonLittD: Honorary Doctor of Letters
  • HonMA: Honorary Master of Arts
  • HonLLD: Honorary Doctor of Laws
  • HonMSc: Honorary Master of Science
  • HonDSc: Honorary Doctor of Science
  • HonDUniv: Honorary Doctor of the University


    Emeritus Professor Sir Leonard George Holden Huxley HonDSc


    John Paul Wild HonDSc
    Emeritus Professor Sir Rutherford Ness Robertson HonDSc
    The Rt. Hon. Michael Thomas Somare HonLLD


    Sir Leslie Galfreid Melville HonLLD
    Dr Douglas Frew Waterhouse HonDSc


    Emeritus Professor Clinton Hartley Grattan HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor Sir Roy Douglas Wright HonLLD
    Professor John Henry Calaby HonDSc


    The Hon. Kim Edward Beazley HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor Sir John Grenfell Crawford HonLLD
    Mrs Pauline Fanning HonMA


    Mr Baldur Unwin Byles HonLLD


    Emeritus Professor William Edward Hanley Stanner HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Alec Derwent Hope HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Yee Chiang HonLittD


    Emeritus Professor Sir Harold Bailey HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Arthur Dale Trendall HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Sir Kenneth Bailey HonLLD


    Sir Frederick William George White HonDSc
    Emeritus Professor Raymond William Firth HonLittD
    Herbert Cole Coombs HonLLD
    The Rt. Hon. Lord Casey HonLLD


    The Rt. Hon. Lord Todd HonDSc
    Dr Francis Noble Ratcliff HonDSc
    Emeritus Professor Sir Mark Laurance Edwin Oliphant HonDSc
    Dr Sidney Nolan HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor Sir William Keith Hancock HonLittD


    Sir Douglas Berry Copland HonLLD


    The Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Gordon Menzies HonLLD