Roll of honour

ANU recognises the exceptional scholarship, citizenship or services of our friends, partners and mentors. The University also bestows emeritus and honorary titles on staff and supporters who have contributed notably to the University.

Emeritus Fellows

Emeritus Fellows are distinguished staff members (academic and general) who have not been Professors but who are deemed to have made a distinguished contribution to the University deserving of recognition.
  • John Douglas Fitz Gerald (1980–2011)
  • Robert Gingold (1981–2007)
  • Ronald James May (1972–2004)
  • Colin Robert Steele (1976–2003)
  • Dr David Christopher Happold (1976–1997)

Honorary University Fellows

Honorary University Fellows are people who have not been staff members but who are deemed to have given significant meritorious service to the University.
  • Ian Francis Grigg

Honorary graduates

Here you can browse through our list of honorary graduates and learn about their distinguished achievements.

Award key

  • HonLittD: Honorary Doctor of Letters
  • HonMA: Honorary Master of Arts
  • HonLLD: Honorary Doctor of Laws
  • HonMSc: Honorary Master of Science
  • HonDSc: Honorary Doctor of Science
  • HonDUniv: Honorary Doctor of the University


    Melissa Lucashenko HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Robin Creyke HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor John McMillan HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor Hugh White HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Dennis Pearce HonLLD


    Distinguished Professor Marcia Langton HonLittD
    Professor Arthur Stockwin HonLittD
    The Hon Peter Garrett HonLLD
    Michael Thawley HonLLD
    Elizabeth Ellis HonLittD
    Geraldine Doogue HonLittD
    Jane Connors HonLLD
    Professor Philip Alston HonLLD
    Arun Abey HonDUniv
    Professor Dame Valerie Beral HonDSc
    Helen Clark HonLLD
    Skaidrite Darius HonDUniv
    Professor Jenny Graves HonDSc
    Dr Robin Hughes HonDUniv
    Professor Ichiro Kawachi HonDSc


    Professor Helen Quinn HonDSc
    Dennis Richardson HonLLD
    Dr Andrew Tridgell HonDSc
    Professor Lyn Beazley HonDSc
    Sir Ross Cranston HonLLD
    Ross Gittins HonLittD
    Sam Mostyn HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor John Pitchford HonDSc


    The Hon Dr Brendan Nelson HonLLD
    Professor Matthias Hentze HonDSc