RANZCP Beverley Raphael Prize for Psychiatry

Offered by ANU College of Health & Medicine


The RANZCP Beverley Raphael Prize for Psychiatry is awarded to the most outstanding final-year medical student in psychiatry.

Professor Raphael was the Professor of Psychiatry at the Australian National University Medical School until 2016. Highlights from her remarkable career include a decades-long contribution to the fields of trauma and bereavement; a leading light in her profession as past President of the Royal Australian College of Psychiatrists; a distinguished career in public service as Director of the NSW Centre for Mental Health and her commitment as an inspiring educator throughout her career, notably as foundation Professor of Psychiatry at the Newcastle University Medical School. Professor Raphael passed away in 2018. This award is named to honour her achievements and her exceptional contribution to Psychiatry and education throughout a long and distinguished career.

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2008 Veronia Kolos