John Molony Prize in History

Offered by ANU College of Arts & Social Sciences


The prize shall be awarded each year to a person who: had been enrolled in the School of History in the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences; completed requirements for the award of the degree of Doctor of Philosophy of the University in the previous calendar year; and in the opinion of the Selection Committee submitted the best thesis in history.

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Funding for this prize has been provided by the ANU Emeritus Faculty in honour of Professor John Molony. Professor Molony started at the ANU in 1964, as a Research Assistant in Medieval History at the School of General Studies. He went on to become Head of the Department of History and to hold the Manning Clark Chair of Australian History from 1982 until his retirement from the University in 1990. After his retirement, Professor Molony was seminal in forming the ANU Emeritus Faculty in 1999. The Emeritus Faculty continues to exist as a collegial community of former university staff, and others, who contribute their skills and knowledge to the University, and to society more widely.

Previous winners

Year Name
2018 Scott Stephenson
2016 Alexis Bergantz
2015 Alessandro Antonello
2015 Laura Rademaker
2014 Shelley Anne Richardson
2013 Christian O’Brien (Inaugural award)