Guan Chong Prize in Surgery

Each year the ANU Medical School may offer a prize known as the Guan Chong Prize in Surgery.
Professor Guan Chong donated this prize in surgery in order to further medical student interest and inspire excellence in the study of Surgery. 

Offered by ANU College of Health & Medicine


The Prize is awarded to a final year student each year who was enrolled in Year Four of the Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery Program; demonstrated outstanding performance on surgical assessment at the Year Three examination (as advised by MEU); and was assessed as the best candidate in an invitational long case in surgery.

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2021 Sinead Loosen
2020 *Not awarded
2019 *Not awarded
2018 *Not awarded
2017 Ashod Kherlopian
2016 Fabio Longordo
2015 Benjamin Verstandig
2014 Allan Chain
2013 Michael Krasovitsky
2013 Alan Peirce
2012 Alexis Ford
2011 Ross Penglase
2010 Julia Hoy
2009 David Burns
2008 Peter Yuide
2007 Brandon Burke (Inaugural award)