Gatenby Prize for Excellence in Internal Medicine

Each year the ANU Medical School may offer a prize known as the Gatenby Prize for Excellence in Internal Medicine.


Offered by ANU College of Health & Medicine


The prize shall be awarded to the student who, in that year was enrolled in Year Four of the Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) - Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Surgery (MChD) Program in the ANU College of Health and Medicine; and:

a) was in the top 25 students in internal medicine in year 3 who will be short-listed for consideration of the award in the following year;

b) received the highest mark in year 4 medicine as determined by the written paper (one third of marks), OSCEs (one third) and long case exam (one third).

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2021 Rebecca Malley
2020 Andrew Sealey
2019 Nunzio Franco
2018 Kirsten Rowcliff
2017 Hamed Shahnam