Edward Irving Prize for Geophysics

Each year the Research School of Earth Sciences (RSES) may offer one prize known as the Edward Irving Prize for Geophysics.

Offered by ANU College of Science


The objective of the prize is to recognise and reward a high-achieving undergraduate student who achieved the best result in the geophysics course Global Geophysics EMSC2022 in that year.

The prize will be on offer annually.

Funding for this prize has been provided by Frederick and Penelope Lilley.

Frederick Lilley joined The Australian National University in 1968 as a Research Fellow in geophysics, and retired in 2003 as a Senior Fellow in the Research School of Earth Sciences. For some two decades he gave a geophysics course in the then ANU Department of Geology, as a guest lecturer from RSES.

Penelope Lilley was employed at The Australian National University in the Research School of Chemistry from 1983 to 2005, commencing as a Research Assistant and retiring as a Research Officer.


Lachlan Anderson
Ashley Ting Huang
Darby Erin Liersch
Darcy Bedward

Field of study


Reference Documents

Use contact details to request an alternative file format.