Ann Bates Postgraduate Prize for Indonesian Studies

Offered by ANU College of Asia & the Pacific


The prize shall be awarded each year to a person who, in the previous calendar year was admitted to the degree of Doctor of Philosophy of the University and submitted the most outstanding thesis on a topic that was wholly or substantially about Indonesia and demonstrated proficiency in the Indonesian language through the use of Indonesian language source material.

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2017 Maria Myutel
2016 Andrey Damaledo
2015 Muhammad Adlin Sila
2014 No Awardee
2013 No Awardee
2012 Dr Ismatu Ropi
2011 Piers Gillespie
2010 Amrita Malhi
2005 Dr Marcus Mietzner
2004 Dr Deborah Johnson (Inaugural award)