Tuition Fees Summary

Domestic Undergraduate and Postgraduate Coursework Students

On 19 October 2020, the Job-ready Graduates Package passed in parliament. This means from 1 January 2021, there will be some changes to Australia's higher education student contribution bands. For more information, please visit StudyAssist

All domestic undergraduate students, and some domestic postgraduate students, are Commonwealth supported. This means they are not liable for the full tuition fee for a course.

The Australian government pays a portion of the tuition fee for Commonwealth supported students. The remaining amount is called the 'student contribution'. Domestic students are encouraged to read the sections below on HECS-HELP and FEE-HELP. Most domestic graduate coursework and non-award students at ANU are required to pay domestic tuition fees (DTF). The table below summarises these contributions with details in the fees schedule.

For the purposes of determining student contribution amounts, courses are categorised by their broad discipline (student contribution bands). ANU degree programs allow the flexibility to take courses across multiple bands. The student contribution amounts applicable to each discipline are listed below. Specific course contribution amounts are listed on the relevant course entry on the Programs & Courses website. The student contribution amount differs based on which band the relevant course belongs to. The amount charged per course is apportioned on the equivalent full-time student load (EFTSL) value of the course.  Full details are provided throughout these pages.

International Undergraduate and Postgraduate Coursework Students

Please follow the links in Programs & Courses where specific fees for international students are listed by your degree.

Research Students

Please contact the Graduate Research Office for advice about costs of study and support available to graduate researchers.

Reference documents

Use contact details to request an alternative file format.

Related websites