ANU experts on the 2022 federal election

1 March 2022

Politics and elections

Emeritus Professor John Warhurst 
ANU School of Politics and International Relations 
T: 0439 498 283 
E: John.Warhurst@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: General politics and elections including ACT 

Associate Professor Vanessa Teague 
ANU Research School of Computer Science 
T: +61 2 6125 7979  
E: Vanessa.Teague@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Election security, electronic voting, election auditing 

Dr Jill Sheppard 
ANU School of Politics and International Relations 
T: 0407 052 927 
E: Jill.Sheppard@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Elections, voting, public opinion 

Dr Thomas Haines 
ANU Research School of Computer Science 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Thomas.Haines@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Cryptographer specialising in the security of distributed systems, and electronic voting systems audits. 

Professor Mark Kenny 
ANU School of Politics and International Relations 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: media@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Political news and current affairs, election campaigns, recent elections, parties, analysis of politics 

Dr Marija Taflaga  
Australian Politics Studies Centre 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: media@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Workings of parliament, internal political party processes 

Professor Nicholas Biddle 
ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods 
T: 0466 841 595 
E: Nicholas.Biddle@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: General election topics, population trends and policies, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander policy, public policy, education policy 

Professor Don Rothwell
ANU College of Law
T: 0414 546 830
E: Donald.Rothwell@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: International law, constitutional law

Associate Professor Ryan Goss 
ANU College of Law 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Ryan.Goss@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Constitutional law, constitutional reform, some aspects of law and politics 

Professor Jay (John) Wanna 
ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: John.Wanna@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Australian politics and public policy, budgetary systems and reforms, policy implementation 

Professor Ian McAllister 
ANU School of Politics and International Relations, founder of the Australian Election Study at ANU 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Ian.McAllister@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Elections, voting and party systems 

Emeritus Professor John Uhr 
ANU School of Politics and International Relations 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: John.Uhr@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Australian politics, political theory, parliament, public leadership

Dr John Hewson 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 0412 261 463 
E: John.Hewson@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Australian government and politics, economic policy 

Dr Ron Levy
ANU College of Law
T: 0407 580 995
E: Ron.Levy@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Legal framework of elections, hung parliaments, free speech, rights, Covid, international comparisons

National security and foreign affairs

Dr Matthew Sussex 
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs 
T: 0402 912 461 
E: Matthew.Sussex@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: National security, Australian foreign policy 

Dr William Stoltz 
ANU National Security College 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: William.Stoltz@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: National security and foreign affairs 

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb 
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs 
T: 0414 496 212 
E: Paul.Dibb@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Defence and foreign policy; also how events in China, Russia and Ukraine may affect Australia 

Professor Stephen Howes 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 0400 167 936 
E: Stephen.Howes@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Foreign aid, labour mobility 

Professor John Blaxland 
ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre 
T: 0429 824 169 
E: John.Blaxland@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Defence, intelligence, national and regional security affairs 

Professor Rory Medcalf 
ANU National Security College 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Rory.Medcalf@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: National security, defence, foreign policy, foreign interference 

Youth 

Associate Professor Faith Gordon 
ANU College of Law 
T: 0414 341 986 
E: Faith.Gordon@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Young people and the vote; criminal justice policies - including proposed changes on deportation; online trolling bill proposed; women and gender; climate action policies 

Intifar Chowdhury 
ANU School of Politics and International Relations 
T: 0411 587 225 
E: Intifar.Chowdhury@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Young people, electoral politics, political elites, public opinion, youth (voter) dissatisfaction. 

Professor Ariadne Vromen 
Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 0432 258 101
E: Ariadne.vromen@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Young people, social media, future of work, advocacy organisations including GetUp.

Health and social policy

Professor Sharon Friel  
ANU School of Regulation and Global Governance 
T: 0410 356 194 
E: Sharon.Friel@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: public health; health inequalities; climate change and health; social policy and health; social and commercial determinants of health 

Dr Liz Allen 
ANU School of Demography 
T: 0401 358 091 
E: Liz.Allen@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Population, demography, social trends, social policy, public policy, housing, inequality, gender, birth rates, families, data 

Professor Peter Whiteford 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 0403 050 371 
E: Peter.Whiteford@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Social policy income support, inequality 

Associate Professor Liz Hanna 
ANU Fenner School of Environment and Society 
T: 0418 995 504 
E: Liz.Hanna@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Health impacts arising from the various ravages of climate change: extreme events, heat, fires, drought, floods, including impacts up on societal functioning. Environmental degradation and impacts upon humanity 

Professor Michael Platow 
ANU Research School of Psychology 
T: +61 2 6125 8457 
E: Michael.Platow@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Psychology of leadership and influence, intergroup relations (e.g., prejudice), psychology of identity, psychology of trust and fairness 

Professor Nicholas Biddle 
ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods 
T: 0466 841 595 
E: Nicholas.Biddle@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: General election topics, population trends and policies, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander policy, public policy, education policy 

Dr Arnagretta Hunter 
ANU College of Health and Medicine 
T: 0418 419 414 
E: Arnagretta.Hunter@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Healthcare, climate change, policy landscape 

Political communication and marketing

Dr Andrew Hughes  
ANU Research School of Management 
T: 0413 130 129, also contactable via Twitter @marketingandrew 
E: Andrew.Hughes@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Political advertising and communications, strategy, marketing and branding. 

Professor Ariadne Vromen 
Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 02 6125 2134 
E: Ariadne.Vromen@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Online campaigning organisations (eg Get Up), social media use during the campaign  

Gender

Dr Sonia Palmieri 
Gender Policy Fellow, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific 
T: 0478 787 742 
E: Sonia.Palmieri@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Gender equality, diversity and inclusion in parliament; Jenkins review and its recommendations 

Professor Michelle Ryan 
Global Institute for Women's Leadership 
T: 0402 031 305 
E: Michelle.Ryan@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Gender inequality and Set the Standard report 

Dr Blair Williams 
Global Institute for Women's Leadership 
T: 0431 067 541 
E: Blair.Williams@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Gender politics, sexual harassment and assault in parliament, women politicians, media coverage of women in politics. 

Associate Professor Faith Gordon 
ANU College of Law 
T: 0414 341 986 
E: Faith.Gordon@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Young people and the vote; criminal justice policies - including proposed changes on deportation; online trolling bill proposed; women and gender; climate action policies 

Indigenous affairs

James Blackwell 
ANU Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs 
T: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: media@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Indigenous politics and policy, the Uluru Statement and a Voice to Parliament, foreign and defence policy 

Professor Nicholas Biddle 
ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods 
T: 0466 841 595 
E: Nicholas.Biddle@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: General election topics, population trends and policies, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander policy, public policy, education policy 

Climate and science

Professor Frank Jotzo 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 0400 357 252 
E: Frank.Jotzo@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: (To comment on policy announcements) Climate change policy and economics, especially emissions reductions, including energy 

Professor Mark Howden 
ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions  
T: 0429 026 050 
E: Mark.Howden@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Climate change, climate risk management, food and agriculture 

Professor Ken Baldwin 
ANU Research School of Physics 
T: 0432 987 251 
E: Kenneth.Baldwin@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Energy/climate policy, science policy 

Professor Paul Burke  
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: (02) 6125 6566 
E: Paul.J.Burke@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Energy, climate 

Associate Professor Liz Hanna 
ANU Fenner School of Environment and Society 
T: 0418 995 504 
E: Liz.Hanna@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Health impacts arising from the various ravages of climate change: extreme events, heat, fires, drought, floods, including impacts up on societal functioning. Environmental degradation and impacts upon humanity 

Associate Professor Christian Downie 
ANU School of Regulation and Global Governance 
T: 0419 014 575 
E: Christian.Downie@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Climate and energy policy, including at a global level. 

Professor Andrew Blakers 
ANU College of Engineering & Computer Science
T: 0417 390 139
E: Andrew.Blakers@anu.edu.au
Expertise: Solar energy, energy policy and economics. 

Dr Arnagretta Hunter 
ANU College of Health and Medicine 
T: 0418 419 414 
E: Arnagretta.Hunter@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Healthcare, climate change, policy landscape. 

Environment 

Professor Jamie Pittock 
ANU Fenner School of Enivronment and Society
T: 0407 265 131
Expertise: Environmental management, water policy, climate change adaptation
 
Professor David Lindenmayer 
ANU Fenner School of Enivronment and Society
T: 0427 770 593
Expertise: Forest ecology, resource management
 

Economics and finance

Associate Professor Geoff Warren  
ANU Research School of Finance, Actuarial Studies and Statistics 
T: 0411 241 091 
E: Geoff.Warren@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Superannuation and retirement policy, including the role of financial advice 

Professor Robert Breunig 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 0434 689 938 
E: Robert.Breunig@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Economic policy, childcare, tax policy, welfare policy 

Associate Professor Ben Phillips 
ANU Centre for Social Research and Methods 
T: 0403 929 395 
E: Ben.Phillips@anu.edu.au 
Expertise: Tax, welfare, housing, economics, cost of living 

Professor Warwick McKibbin 
ANU Crawford School of Public Policy 
T: 0419 230 760 
E: Warwick.McKibbin@anu.edu.au  
Expertise: Macroeconomics, economic models, the global economy, monetary policy, fiscal policy 

 

Read more federal election coverage from ANU: