Russell Charles Taylor AM

Mr Russell Charles Taylor was appointed a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia in the 2015 Queen's Birthdays Honours, for his significant service to the community as a cultural leader and public sector executive in the field of Indigenous affairs. Mr Taylor graduated from The Australian National University with a Graduate Diploma of Arts (Hons) in 2003 and is Principal and Chief Executive Officer, Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies.

The AIATSIS Council's Deputy Chair, Emeritus Professor Bob Tonkinson (UWA), said the recognition is well deserved and an acknowledgement of Mr Taylor's significant personal contribution to the Institute among his many other public appointments.

"On behalf of the Council, staff and members of the Institute, I would like to congratulate Russell on this award," Professor Tonkinson said. 

"Russell has been a tireless campaigner for the Institute, under his leadership the institute has developed into the world's premier institution for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies and the trusted keeping place for the world's largest collection of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural heritage materials."

Mr Taylor has been the Principal at AIATSIS since March 2009. His career includes more than 20 years in various public sector Senior Executive Service positions including terms with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission, the Aboriginal Development Commission and previously as Principal at AIATSIS (1997-2003).

Born and raised in Millers Point NSW, Mr Taylor proudly identifies as a Kamilaroi man with family connection to La Perouse in Sydney and to traditional country in the New England area.

Mr Taylor's career and appointments include:

  • Member, National Ministerial Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Higher Education Advisory Council, current. 
  • Board Member, Lowitja Institute - National Institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Research, current. 
  • Council Member, University of Technology Sydney, since 2006; Member, Honorary Awards Committee and Social Justices Committee, current; Chair, Vice-Chancellor's Indigenous Advisory Committee, since 2011; Past Chair, Equity Reference Group; Adjunct Professor, Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning, since 2010.
  • Member, Vice-Chancellor's Indigenous Advisory Council, Charles Darwin University, current; Member, Australian Centre of Indigenous Knowledge and Education; Honorary Fellow. 
  • Member, Indigenous Advisory Committee, National Museum of Australia, since 2011. 
  • Founding Director, Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre, since 2001. 
  • Board Member, Healing Foundation, current. 
  • Board Member, Nature Conservation Trust, current.

Sources: GG and AIATSIS MRel

Page Owner: Alumni