Honorary Degrees Committee

The Honorary Degrees Committee is a Committee of Council. The Committee provides advice and makes recommendations to the Council on proposals for the awarding of an honorary degree by the University. The Committee operates under the auspices of the Honorary Degrees Rules 2015, and a charter, as approved by the Council.


Category Member Term expiry
Chancellor The Hon Julie Bishop
Pro-Chancellor Ms Naomi Flutter
Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian P. Schmidt AC FAA FRS
Three members of Council Professor Suzanne Cory AC
30 Jun 2022
Ms Tanya Hosch
30 Jun 2022
Deputy Vice-Chancellors Professor Keith Nugent
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation)
Professor Grady Venville
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Professor Ian Anderson AO
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student and University Experience)
One member of the academic staff drawn from the ANU College of Engineering and Computer Science, the ANU College of Health & Medicine, or the ANU College of Science Professor Daniel MacDonald
1 Oct 2022
One member of the academic staff drawn from the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences, the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, the ANU College of Business and Economics, or the ANU College of Law Professor Li Narangoa
1 Oct 2022
Either the President of the Postgraduate and Research Students' Association Inc. or the President of the Australian National University Students' Association Ms Madhumitha Janagaraja
President, ANU Students' Association
30 Nov 2021


Date & location Deadlines
Thursday 8 Apr, 5.30pm
Agenda deadline
25 Mar
Friday 3 Sep, 1pm
By video conference
Agenda deadline
15 Jul