Peter & Lena Karmel Anniversary Prize in Music

Offered by ANU College of Arts & Social Sciences


Each year the School of Music may offer one award known as the Peter and Lena Karmel Anniversary Prize in Music.

The objective of the prize is to recognise the best graduating student of the School of Music who has displayed outstanding musical excellence throughout the course of their studies, and has the potential to make an outstanding contribution as a musician.

Funding for this prize has been provided by the late Mrs Lena Karmel, and the late Emeritus Professor and former ANU Vice Chancellor (1982-87) Professor Peter Karmel (1922-2008). Peter and Lena Karmel were enthusiastic visual arts and music supporters and generous patrons.  In the ANU Jubilee Year 1996, Peter and Lena very generously endowed the Peter and Lena Karmel Anniversary Awards for outstanding graduating students each year in music and art. In 2014, a Kingsley Street student accommodation building was named in honour of Lena Karmel. For ANU, the Karmels have left a significant philanthropic legacy.

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2019 Mia Huang
2018 Isaac Said
2015 Daniel Faber
2014 Tate Sheridan
2014 Robert Scott
2013 David Shaw
2012 Rohan Dasika
2011 Andrey Lebedev
2011 Alexina Hawkins
2010 Austin Buckett
2009 Carl Morgan
2008 Fiona Fraser
2007 Patrick Suthers (Inaugural award)