Bailey Prize for Human Rights

Each year the ANU College of Law may offer one award known as the Bailey Prize for Human Rights ('The Award').

Offered by ANU College of Law


The objective of the prize is to recognise the student(s) who has demonstrated a high level of academic excellence through being awarded the highest result in LAWS4220 / 8420 Human Rights Law in Australia at the ANU College of Law.

Funding for this prize has been provided by the Professor Peter Bailey AM OBE. Peter Hamilton Bailey AM OBE is a former Australian public servant and academic. He served as an advisor to seven Australian prime ministers, and later became a professor in human rights law at the Australian National University (ANU).

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2021 Benjamin Palmer
2020 Tahni Chan
2019 Jan Yin Yu Mark
2018 Kanika Kirpalani
2018 Ewan Small
2017 Joanna Gaze
2016 Lanora Feeney
2016 Rebecca Herbert
2015 Alexandra Reid
2014 Alexandra Reid
2013 Sarah Goddard