Undergraduate commonwealth supported places

All domestic undergraduate students enrolled in a degree or other award program are Commonwealth supported. Some domestic graduate students are also Commonwealth supported.

Students who are Commonwealth supported are enrolled in a Commonwealth supported place and pay subsidised tuition fees with the Australian government paying the majority of the cost.

The government pays the majority of the tuition fee and the remaining balance is the student contribution.


The Commonwealth only subsidises tuition fees for courses that are required for the completion of the specific degree of the Commonwealth supported place.

This means Commonwealth supported students cannot get Commonwealth support for courses that don't count directly towards their degree, or to repeat a course which has already been passed.

From 1 January 2021, new higher education students will need a Unique Student Identifier (USI) in order to be eligible for a Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP) or Commonwealth financial assistance HECS-HELP, FEE-HELP and OS-HELP.

From 1 January 2023 all higher education students, including those who commenced prior to 2021, must have a USI in order to graduate and receive their award.

For more information, please visit  - Unique Student Identifier