Postgraduate commonwealth supported places


Postgraduate Commonwealth Supported Places (CSPs) are very limited in number and highly competitive. There is no application process for a CSP as domestic students who have received an offer of admission to a CSP-eligible postgraduate program are automatically considered prior to commencement each semester.

A CSP costs the equivalent of undergraduate fees for eligible graduate coursework programs. Information on Commonwealth Supported fee amounts is available here.


To be considered for a CSP, admissions offer holders must:

  • be a domestic student (i.e. Australian citizen, New Zealand citizen, Australian Permanent Resident or holder of a humanitarian visa);
  • receive and accept an admissions offer to commence in 2022 in one of the Job-ready Graduate Certificate programs or eligible masters programs listed below.

Graduate Certificate Programs

All students commencing in the following programs in 2022 are eligible for CSPs under the Job-ready Graduates Package.

  • Graduate Certificate of Applied Data Analytics
  • Graduate Certificate of Climate Policy
  • Graduate Certificate of Data Engineering
  • Graduate Certificate of Digital Transformation
  • Graduate Certificate of Disaster Risk Science and Sustainability
  • Graduate Certificate of Environment
  • Graduate Certificate of Environmental Management
  • Graduate Certificate of Forests 
  • Graduate Certificate of General and Applied Linguistics
  • Graduate Certificate of Nuclear Technology Regulation 
  • Graduate Certificate of Public Health
  • Graduate Certificate of Science
  • Graduate Certificate of Science Communication

Academic offer holders to these programs will receive an offer for a CSP by the end of January 2022 and are required to formally accept the CSP offer to have the CSP applied to their programs.

Masters Programs

The following ANU masters programs are eligible for CSPs in 2022.

  • Master of Clinical Psychology 
  • Master of Science Communication Outreach 
  • Master of Professional Psychology 
  • Master of Computing 
  • Master of Engineering 
  • Master of Applied Cybernetics

At this stage, no further CSP offers will be made to students commencing in the above Masters programs as the CSP allocation for 2022 has been exhausted.


Recipients are expected to take up the CSP in the semester for which it was offered. Requests to defer a CSP will not be considered. 

If a recipient withdraws from their program or changes to a different program, the CSP is forfeited.

Further Information

From 1 January 2021, new higher education students will need a Unique Student Identifier (USI) in order to be eligible for a Commonwealth Supported Place (CSP) or Commonwealth financial assistance HECS-HELPFEE-HELP and OS-HELP.

For more information, please visit - Unique Student Identifier