ANU experts on the 2022 federal budget

15 March 2022

With the 2022 federal budget to be delivered on 29 March, The Australian National University (ANU) has a range of experts who can speak to media about the budget and related issues.  

Contact our experts directly on the details listed below or via the ANU Media hotline: +61 2 6125 7979 

If you are looking for ANU experts who can speak about the 2022 federal election, check our list here: https://www.anu.edu.au/news/all-news/anu-experts-on-the-2022-federal-election 

 

ECONOMICS 

Associate Professor Geoff Warren 
Expertise: Superannuation and investment industry 
Ph: +61 411 241 091 
E: Geoff.Warren@anu.edu.au 

Peter Martin  
Expertise: Macroeconomics, budget strategy, fiscal, economic forecasts 
Ph: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Peter.Martin@anu.edu.au   

Professor Warwick McKibbin 
Expertise: Macroeconomics, economic models, the global economy, monetary policy, fiscal policy 
Ph: +61 419 230 760 
E: Warwick.McKibbin@anu.edu.au  

 

POLITICS 

Dr Jill Sheppard 
Expertise: Australian government and politics, polling, voting, elections, campaign strategy 
Ph: +61 407 052 927 
E: Jill.Sheppard@anu.edu.au  
@jillesheppard 

Professor Mark Kenny  
Expertise: National politics, democracy, populism, elections 
Ph: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Mark.Kenny@anu.edu.au 
@markgkenny 

Dr Andrew Hughes 
Expertise: Marketing, branding, advertising, business, politics, and policy  
Ph: 02 6125 4872 
E: Andrew.Hughes@anu.edu.au
@marketingandrew 

Dr John Hewson 
Expertise: Australian government and politics, economic policy 
Ph: +61 412 261 463 
E: John.Hewson@anu.edu.au  

 

HEALTH POLICY 

Dr Arnagretta Hunter 
Expertise: Health policy, climate change and health, disaster preparation 
Ph: +61 418 419 414 
E: Arnagretta.Hunter@anu.edu.au  
@cbr_heartdoc  

Professor Sharon Friel 
Expertise: Health public policy, social determinants of health, intersection of heath with climate change 
Ph: +61 410 356 194 
E: Sharon.Friel@anu.edu.au 
@SharonFrielOz 

 

EDUCATION 

Professor Andrew Norton 
Expertise: Higher education systems, higher education regulation  
Ph: +61 418 583 102 
E: Andrew.Norton@anu.edu.au  

Emeritus Professor Bruce Chapman 
Expertise: Higher education financing 
Ph: +61 424 589 728 
E: Bruce.Chapman@anu.edu.au  

 

NATIONAL SECURITY AND FOREIGN AFFAIRS  

Professor Rory Medcalf 
Expertise: National security, defence, foreign affairs 
Ph: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Rory.Medcalf@anu.edu.au 

Dr William Stoltz 
Expertise: National security and defence spending 
Ph: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: William.Stoltz@anu.edu.au  

 

SOCIAL POLICY 

Professor Lyndall Strazdins 
Expertise: Gender equity, health inequality, public health, and health services 
Ph: +61 420 533 205 
E: Lyndall.Strazdins@anu.edu.au  

Dr Liz Allen  
Expertise: Population, immigration, demography, inequality, social policy, public policy, housing 
Ph: +61 401 358 091 
E: Liz.Allen@anu.edu.au  
@drdemography 

Dr Blair Williams
Expertise: Women and gender equality, the "pink recession"  
Ph: +61 431 067 541 
E: Blair.Williams@anu.edu.au  
@blairwilliams26 

Associate Professor Elise Klein
Expertise: Social policy, women's economic security 
Ph: +61 414 786 179
E: Elise.Klein@anu.edu.au
@elisejklein

Professor Sharon Bessell 
Expertise: Poverty, children, gender, aged care
Ph: +61 437 629 197
E: sharon.bessell@anu.edu.au
@BessellSharon

Associate Professor Ben Phillips 
Expertise: Tax and welfare policy, housing, social policy 
Ph: +61 403 929 395 
E: Ben.Phillips@anu.edu.au  
@BenPhillips_ANU 

Professor Peter Whiteford  
Expertise: Social security and welfare 
Ph: +61 403 050 371 
E: Peter.Whiteford@anu.edu.au  
@WhitefordPeter 

 

INFRASTRUCTURE

Professor Sara Bice 
Expertise: Major infrastructure - primarily from a societal benefits/community engagement, socio-environmental risk perspective 
Ph: +61 2 6125 7979 
E: Sara.Bice@anu.edu.au  
 

ENVIRONMENT / SCIENCE 

Dr Emma Aisbett 
Expertise: Green Industrial Policy (hydrogen and critical minerals, international partnerships and trade) 
Ph: +61 420 405 980 
E: Emma.Aisbett@anu.edu.au  

Dr Bec Colvin 
Expertise: Public opinion on climate change and energy transition 
Ph: 02 6125 2662 
E: Rebecca.Colvin@anu.edu.au  
@bec_colvin 

Professor Andrew Blakers
Expertise: Energy and climate  
Ph: +61 417 390 139 
E: Andrew.Blakers@anu.edu.au  

Professor Frank Jotzo 
Expertise: Climate change policy, energy policy, greenhouse gas emissions, decarbonisation and energy  
Ph: +61 400 357 252  
E: Frank.Jotzo@anu.edu.au  
@frankjotzo  

Professor Ken Baldwin 
Expertise: Energy and science policy  
Ph: +61 432 987 251  
E: Kenneth.Baldwin@anu.edu.au  

 

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Tom Worthington
Expertise: Computers, Internet, Defence & Educational Technology
Ph: +61 419 496 150
E: tom.worthington@anu.edu.au