Group of Eight

The Group of Eight (Go8) is a coalition of leading Australian universities, comprehensive in general and professional education and distinguished by depth and breadth in research. The group operated as an informal network of vice-chancellors from 1994 to 1999. It was formally incorporated in September 1999.

Go8 universities can be distinguished in the following ways:

  • they have nurtured every Nobel prize winner educated at an Australian university
  • they contribute over 70 percent of the Fellows of the four Australian learned academies
  • they are the most research concentrated of all Australian universities
  • they account for more than two thirds of Australian university research activity, research output and research training.

Professor Mark Scott AO, Vice-Chancellor and President of The University of Sydney, is the current Chair of the Group of Eight Board.


Page Owner: Executive Office