75th Anniversary Debate: University of the future

Watch the recording of the 75th Anniversary Debate: University of the future on the ANU TV YouTube channel

The University's 75th Anniversary is a year-long celebration that began on 1 August 2021 and the centrepiece to our celebrations includes a public debate on the future of universities. During our 75th anniversary celebrations we have reflected on our history, what we've achieved and who helped us along the way.

This panel style discussion will look at the next 75 years - how will our university and others will look, how we are ensuring graduates are ready for the future of work, and how the higher education sector meets the needs for a rapidly changing world.

The panel includes leading minds from global higher education sector including:

  1. Professor Giselle Byrnes, Provost, Massey University, New Zealand
  2. Distinguished Professor Genevieve Bell, Director of the School of Cybernetics
  3. Professor Sherman Young, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Education & VP, Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT)
  4. Professor Michelle Ryan, Director of the Global Institute of Women's Leadership (GIWL)
  5. Dr Timo Henckel, Senior Lecturer, ANU College of Business & Economics

More panelists to be announced.

Refreshments will be available from 5pm and the panel discussion commences at 6pm.


Registration is required for this event.

Accessible parking spaces are available around campus should you require them.

This is an in-person, indoor event and ANU requires masks to be worn.

To help keep everyone safe, please ensure that you are familiar with, and follow, the advice from ACT Health regarding COVID-19.

If you do not feel well, please refrain from attending this event.

By registering for this event, you are accepting our privacy policy.

Date and Times


Llewellyn Hall, ANU School of Music
Building #100. William Herbert Place
Australian Capital Territory