Women's Alumni Network

The ANU Women's Alumni Network is a forum for women to share and learn from one another, reconnect with the University and current students, and celebrate the achievements of women alumni.

Josephine Janssen says that she was inspired to establish the network along with Monica Dalton and Masaba Gofran after being involved in gender equality initiatives at ANU with a community of passionate and inspiring women. As a new graduate, she wanted to create a similar community for alumni.
"We believe that by empowering each other in our respective fields we can create a better and more equal society."

Read about the launch of the Women's Alumni Network at the 2019 Alumni Weekend.

There are many opportunities to be involved with the network, including by volunteering as a mentor, sponsor, panellist, moderator, workshop presenter or venue host.

If you would like to find out more or be involved and support women of ANU contact womensalumni.network@anu.edu.au.


The current WAN Steering committee members are:

ANU WAN - Josephine Janssen

Josephine Janssen (BA '17, BBA '17)

Chair of the Women's Alumni Network

Originally from Sydney, Josephine decided to leave her comfort zone and begin a new adventure by studying at ANU. "I wanted to attend ANU for its excellent education system and its opportunities to learn and grow. Coming from a large metropolitan city I was looking for something that felt more like a community and a home which fortunately is exactly what I found".

ANU WAN - Alicia Lillington

Alicia Lillington (BIntRlns '13)

Co-Chair of the Women's Alumni Network

Changing the world one conversation at a time, Alicia Lillington works to empower people to embrace change where culture meets technology. Her current role is Change and Communications Lead for the Service Delivery Office at the Department of Finance. 

Anya Bonan

Anya Bonan (LLB(Hons) '19, BA '19)

During Anya's five years at ANU, she was deeply committed to creating a home away from home for students on campus, holding multiple positions at Burton & Garran Hall and the ANU Students' Association. Anya now works at Accenture, specialising in change management, stakeholder engagement and human-centred technology design.

ANU WAN - Caoimhe McEnallay

Caoimhe McEnallay (BCom '19, BIR '19)

Originally from Sydney, Caoimhe McEnallay studied Commerce and International Relations at ANU. After completing her studies in 2019, she began working for a global consulting firm. Caoimhe has a passion for improving diversity and inclusion, and is particularly interested in improving representation on boards of Australian organisations.

Shamaruh Mirza

Shamaruh Mirza (PhD ’10)

Dr Shamaruh Mirza is a senior scientist working for the Therapeutic Goods Administration. In addition to her professional role, Shamaruh is founder of the not-for-profit organisation SiTara’s Story. Dedicated to the well-being of the Canberra community, Shamaruh supports women to participate in social, cultural, economic and civic life. She has been awarded the 2021 ACT Mental Health Month Award, was a finalist for the Canberra Community Spirits Award 2021, and was awarded 2023 ACT Local Hero, for this work.

ANU WAN - Brigitte Morten

Brigitte Morten (LLM '07)

Brigitte Moreton moved from Wellington to do her Masters in Law at ANU. Studying her masters got Brigitte a foot in the door at the Embassy of Israel, followed by 10 years working in politics both in Australia and New Zealand. Now, Brigitte is a Director at Franks Ogilvie.

ANU WAN - Rachael Warren

Rachael Warren (BA '11)

Rachael Warren graduated from ANU in 2011 with a Bachelor of Arts and is currently working in the Australian Public Service. She is active in promoting gender equality and trying to break down stereotypes – a result of her Gender Studies at ANU which she says left a lasting impression.

ANU WAN - Annie Zhou

Annie Zhou (BPPE '19, LLB(Hons) '19)

Raised in Sydney and Beijing, Annie Zhou moved to Canberra to study a Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy and Economics, and a Bachelor of Laws (Honours) at ANU. After graduating in 2019, Annie began her career as an investment banker at Goldman Sachs before moving to NAB Ventures as a VC investor.
Page owner: Alumni