ANU LGBTQIA+ Alumni Network

The ANU LGBTQIA+ Alumni Network mission is to foster community among, and build stronger connections between, ANU LGBTQIA+ alumni and students, staff, faculty, parents, and straight allies through an intersectional lens.

This will be achieved through social and networking events, thought leadership discussions, representation and advocacy of our community and building strong networks with other LGBTQIA+ organisations.

The ANU LGBTQIA+ Alumni Network was launched by Chief Minister Andrew Barr on 31 August 2018, as part of a Wear it Purple Day event. Chief Minster Barr is the Network's inaugural patron, in recognition of his ongoing work in advancing LGBTQIA+ rights and inclusion in the ACT and Australia more broadly. 

Network membership comprises of ANU alumni who self-identify as being part of the LGBTQIA+ community. The Network Committee comprises of ANU alumni who self-identify as being part of the LGBTQIA+ community and who have volunteered and been selected serve on the Committee.

Committee members

The current ANU LGBTQIA+ Alumni Network committee members are:


  • Ali Khan, GDLP '10, LLB(Hons) '04 (Pronouns: he/him)
  • Vacant

Transgender and Gender Diverse Alumni Liaison:

General committee members:

  • Desiree Toh, JD '10 (Pronouns: she/her)
  • Vincent Li, BA '21 (Pronouns: he/him)

Join the network

You can stay connected with the Network and keep informed about its plans and activities by joining the Network's Facebook Group or emailing and asking to be added to the mailing list.


Page Owner: Alumni