Gender Equity Working Group

The objective of the Working Group is to assist with strategic development, implementation of actions and the reporting cycle of the Gender Equity Working Group as part of the University's commitment to the creation of an inclusive, diverse, equitable and accessible study, work and living environment as part of the ANU IDEA Governance Framework. The ANU IDEA Governance Framework takes a whole-of-community approach to foster a healthy working, learning and living environment for students, staff and visitors.

Terms of reference

To assist in the implementation, evaluation, reporting and review of the SAGE Athena SWAN Action Plan and expansion to a broader Gender Equity Action Plan designed to enhance the university experience, including evaluation of outcomes and reporting to the IDEA Oversight Committee.

  • To coordinate activities across the University sharing ideas and initiatives to promote the Gender Equity Action Plan and initiatives.
  • Advocate for the Gender Equity Action Plan and initiatives with the ANU community and beyond.
  • Provide a forum to facilitate information flow and debate on the Gender Equity initiatives within the University and between senior executive officers and the wider University community.
  • Provide feedback and advice on the implications of policies, programs and services on the Gender Equity Action Plan, identifying gaps, opportunities and recommend additional actions.
  • Oversee and provide guidance on the Athena SWAN Bronze to Silver Pathway.



Category Member Term expiry
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Student and University Experience) Professor Ian Anderson AO
Professor Ian Anderson
Director, Human Resources Division or nominee Dr Nadine White
Planning and Service Performance Division representative Sarah Gledhill
Facilities and Services Division representative Jeremy Mathews
Convenor of the Gender Institute Associate Professor Fiona Jenkins Ex-officio
Male Champions of Change, Implementation Leader Chris Price Ex-officio
PARSA Equity Officer TBC
ANUSA Equity Officer
STEM Research School representative Catherine Ayres
HASS Research School representative TBC
Residential Experience representative TBC
Strategic Communications and Public Affairs representative TBC
CASS representatives Dr Joanna Sikora
Andrea Morris
CAP representatives Suzy Andrews
CBE representatives Dr Sally Curtis
Dr Jananie William
CECS representative Dr Josh Milthorpe
Zoe Cornell
CHM representatives Eline Martinsen
Dr Anne Aimola Davies
CoL representative Dr Kate Ogg
CoS representative Dr Pierre Portal
Eline Martinsen
Page owner: Executive Office