Foreign Interference Advisory Committee

The ANU Foreign Interference Advisory Committee is a sub-committee of the University Research Committee.  It was established to monitor, advise and provide assurance to the University community on the management of foreign interference risks to the University.  The Committee makes determinations on foreign collaborations and, where appropriate, makes recommendations to the Vice Chancellor.  The Committee reports regularly to the University Research Committee on its operations and activities.

Terms of reference

The Committee advises the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation) and the Vice-Chancellor on:

  • matters relating to foreign collaborations or foreign interference at the University
  • any matter referred to the Committee.

The Committee, in carrying out its role, is to:

  • be the point of contact for the ANU regarding external enquiries concerning foreign interference
  • provide policy advice on matters relating to possible foreign interference in the activities of the ANU
  • provide up-to-date advice on matters of foreign interference to the ANU community
  • review and provide advice on collaborative international research and/or teaching relationships
  • review and provide advice on collaborative international HDR candidate and student relationships with the ANU
  • oversee and approve ANU responses to requests from government on matters of foreign interference
  • respond to any other issues relating to foreign interference as required by the Vice Chancellor.


CategoryMemberTerm expiry
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation), Chair Professor Lachlan BlackhallEx-officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Grady Venville
Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Chief Communications Officer Mr Ed O'Daly Ex-officio
Vice President, Advancement Mr Alex Furman Ex-officio
Chief Information Security Officer Mr Suthagar Seevaratnam Ex-officio
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Graduate Research) Professor Ann Evans Ex-officio
Chief Operating Officer Mr Christopher Price Ex-officio
Dean, College of Asia & Pacific Professor Helen Sullivan Ex-officio
Dean, College of Science Professor Kiaran Kirk Ex-officio


Date & LocationDeadlines
Tuesday 06 Feb, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 20 Feb, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 05 Mar, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 19 Mar, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 02 Apr, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 16 Apr, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 30 Apr, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 14 May, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 28 May, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 11 Jun, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 25 Jun, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 09 Jul, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 23 Jul, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 06 Aug, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 20 Aug, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 03 Sep, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 17 Sep, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 01 Oct, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 15 Oct, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 29 Oct, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 12 Nov, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 26 Nov, 1.00 pm  
Tuesday 10 Dec, 1.00 pm