Election to Council of one academic staff member

Election: Council Academic staff (Institute) member

The ANU Council will shortly have a vacancy to be filled by a member of the academic staff for the position of 'Academic staff (Institute) member'.  The vacancy is for the period February 2019 to 29 September 2020. To be eligible, the candidate, as an academic staff member, must have duties with a predominant research focus.

On Monday 10 December 2018, a call for nominations was issued to eligible academic staff.

At the close of the nomination period, 10am Monday 24 December 2018, four nominations had been received from:

  • A/Prof Patrick Kluth, Electronic Materials Engineering, Research School of Physics & Engineering, College of Science  
  • Professor James Raymer, School of Demography, College of Arts and Social Sciences
  • Professor Kate Reynolds, Research School of Psychology, College of Health & Medicine
  • Dr Kerri Viney, Research School of Population Health, College of Health & Medicine

Therefore, an online ballot was held, with all eligible academic staff given the opportunity to vote.  The voting poll opened on Monday 14 January 2019.  All eligible voters were sent a voting link via email on this day.  Voting closed at 5pm on Tuesday 29 January 2019.

Outcome of Election

Following a counting of the votes, I can confirm that Professor Kate Reynolds has been elected.


More information on the work of the Council is available on its webpage

Email: returning.officer@anu.edu.au

Postal address:  Megan Easton, Returning Officer, Corporate Governance and Risk Office, Room 1.07A, Chancelry, Building 10, The Australian National University, Canberra ACT 2601


Megan Easton
Returning Officer