National Merit Scholarship


The National Merit Scholarship is aimed to provide financial assistance to select students who are no longer eligible to receive the ANU National University Scholarship (NUS).

Field of study

University wide


The Award is available each year to continuing ANU students who:

  • were originally awarded an NUS; and
  • had their NUS terminated due to not meeting the Grade Point Average (GPA) academic progress requirements applying under their original NUS Conditions of Award; and
  • maintained at least a GPA of 6.0, or a 5.5 for students enrolled in the Bachelor of Law or combined Flexible Double Degree Law, in each semester from the commencement of the award of the NUS.


The scholarships offers a stipend of $6,500 per annum paid in equal instalments at the beginning of each semester for the remaining duration under your original NUS award.

How to apply

No application is required as students are automatically considered based on them meeting the eligibility criteria.