Doherty PhD Supplementary Scholarship


Each year the John Curtin School of Medical Research in the ANU College of Health and Medicine may offer an award known as the Doherty PhD Supplementary Scholarship with the aim to attract students of high calibre, with clinical qualifications, to pursue postgraduate studies at the JCSMR involving a clinical research project, in order to facilitate interaction between basic biomedical science and clinical research.

The award was established in honour of Professor Peter Doherty, who shared the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine with Professor Rolf Zinkernagel in 1996, for work done at JCSMR.

Field of study

Doctor of Philosophy at the John Curtin School of Medical Research


The award will be available each year to a prospective/continuing student who:

  • is awarded and continues to hold an Australian Government Research Training Program (AGRTP) Stipend Scholarship, or a similar living expenses PhD scholarship;
  • is enrolled or enrolling full-time in a program of study for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy at the John Curtin School of Medical Research; and
  • holds an Australian Bachelor Honours degree with First Class Honours or equivalent,and has research publications and/or relevant research experience.


The scholarship provides a top-up of $10,000 per annum paid fortnightly in arrears for 3 years or in-line with the student's base stipend.

How to apply

No separate scholarship application is required as all eligible students will be automatically considered.