Year Three Clinical Skills Prize

Offered by ANU College of Health & Medicine


The Welch Allyn Prize was originally established in 2000 at the Canberra Clinical School of the University of Sydney, following a generous offer of an annual prize from Welch Allyn Australia Pty Ltd. Welch Allyn have kindly agreed to now award the prize in recognition of outstanding clinical skills. The prize may be awarded annually by the Dean of the Medical School to a candidate in Year 3 of the degrees of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery. The prize will be known as ‘The Year Three Clinical Skills Prize’ and will be awarded to a student who can demonstrate commitment to the development of clinical skills as indicated by log book activity; and submits a brief description of an innovative, practical way to teach/demonstrate/model a clinical skill (in its broadest context, eg communication skills) that the student would like to see introduced into The Australian National University Medical School program.

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2009 David Corbet
2008 Thomas Ward
2007 Sarah Bombell
2006 Deanne Sceales (Inaugural award)