Anthony McAvoy SC Prize for Legal Education for True Justice 

Each year the ANU College of Law may offer one award known as the Anthony McAvoy SC Prize for Legal Education for True Justice ('The Award').


Offered by ANU College of Law


The objective of the prize is to recognise the student(s) who has demonstrated a high level of academic excellence through being awarded the highest result in LAWS4307/6307 Legal Education for True Justice: Indigenous Perspectives and Deep Listening on Country at the ANU College of Law.

Funding for this prize has been provided by the Wood Indigenous Law Endowment. The Prize is named in honour of Anthony McAvoy SC - Australia's first Indigenous Barrister to take Silk (2015) and one of Australia's leading native title lawyers.

Details of prizes including eligibility and Conditions of Award are subject to change without notice.

Previous winners

Year Name
2021 Robyn Lewis
2021 Isabella Borchert-Jonker
2019 Emilia Currey
2018 Samuel Saunders
2017 Jessica Elliott
2017 Abirami Rajkumar
2016 Loren Ovens
2015 Jane Thomson (Inaugural award)