Professor Frank Jotzo is the Director of the ANU Grand Challenge: Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific. He is also Head of Energy at the ANU Institute for Climate, Energy & Disaster Solutions and Professor at the ANU Crawford School of Public Policy, where he directs the Centre for Climate and Energy Policy. He is joint editor-in-chief of the journal Climate Policy, and a lead author of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change forthcoming Assessment Report and Synthesis Report. Professor Jotzo been involved in a number of policy research and advisory exercises, including as senior advisor to Australia's Garnaut Climate Change Review, and advisor to national governments and Australian State and Territory governments. He has led collaborative research programs including on decarbonisation, coal transition, and China's climate and energy policy. As an environmental economist, his research focuses on policy relevant aspects of climate change, energy, and broader issues of environment, development and economic reform. He teaches at Crawford School.

Dr Emma Aisbett is Associate Director, Research for Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific and Fellow at the School of Regulation and Global Governance (RegNet). Emma has a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering (UNSW with University Medal), Master of Environmental Change and Management (Oxon.) and PhD in Agricultural and Resource Economics (UC Berkeley). Emma uses her interdisciplinary background to support social and natural scientists, legal scholars and engineers to engage in the inter- and trans-disciplinary research necessary to solve wicked problems like the ZCEAP Grand Challenge. Her own research for the ZCEAP focuses on trade and investment aspects - particularly the evolution of international governance (both public and private) for global value chains in renewable energy.

Chief Operating Officer: Karen Warnes, e:

Grand Challenge Fellows working across disciplines ranging from fundamental science, technology and engineering, to energy governance, geopolitics, economics and policy.  Team members work across the project streams listed below, each convened by the following expert researchers:

  1. Renewable Energy Systems - Dr Matthew Stocks 
  2. Hydrogen Fuels - Dr Fiona Beck
  3. Energy Policy and Governance in Asia-Pacific Countries - Associate Professor Paul Burke 
  4. Renewable Refining of Metal Ores - Associate Professor John Pye 
  5. Indigenous and Community Engagement - Professor Asmi Wood

The Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific team is truly interdisciplinary. The project involves researchers from five ANU Colleges;

  • College of Science
  • College of Asia and the Pacific
  • College of Law
  • College of Engineering and Computer Science
  • College of Arts and Social Sciences.
Page owner: Executive Office