Nine ANU academics elected social science fellows

21 September 2016

Nine senior academics from three ANU colleges have been elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of the Social Sciences in recognition of their significant contribution to social science globally.

ANU academics recognised for their distinguished research careers ARE: Professor Laurajane Smith, Dr Carolyn Strange, and Professor Melanie Nolan from the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences, Professor David Stern, Dr Philip Taylor, Professor Jenny Corbett, Professor Nicholas Evans and Honorary Professor Fiona Haines from the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, and Professor Rabee Tourky from the ANU College of Business and Economics.

Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington congratulated the nine academics on being elected fellows.

"To be named a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia is a wonderful achievement and highlights the distinguished research careers of these academics who have contributed to social science research here and internationally," Professor Hughes-Warrington said.

"On behalf of the University, I congratulate Laurajane, David, Carolyn, Philip, Rabee, Jenny, Melanie, Nicholas and Fiona on this latest recognition." 

The nine ANU fellows are amongst 39 new Fellows of the Academy who will be installed at the Academy's annual symposium and general meeting 7-9 November.


ANU academics named 2016 Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

Professor Laurajane Smith, Professor, Centre for Heritage and Museum Studies, School of Archaeology and Anthropology

Professor David Stern, Professor and Director International and Development Economics, Crawford School of Public Policy

Dr Carolyn Strange, Senior Fellow and Graduate Director, School of History

Dr Philip Taylor, Senior Fellow, Department of Anthropology, School of Culture, History & Language

Professor Rabee Tourky, Trevor Swan Chair, Research School of Economics

Professor Jenny Corbett, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Research Training

Professor Nicholas Evans, Distinguished Professor, Department of Linguistics, School of Culture, History & Language; ARC Laureate Fellow; Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language

Professor Melanie Nolan, Director, National Centre of Biography and General Editor, Australian Dictionary of Biography

Honorary Professor Fiona Haines, School of Regulation and Global Governance.