Exceptional teachers honoured at ANU

26 May 2016

ANU has honoured its finest teachers at the Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education.

The annual awards, introduced in 1991, recognise and encourage excellence in both undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and research supervision across all colleges at the University. This year saw more than 20 educators recognised for their commitment to teaching at ANU, with 13 awards presented.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt said the awards are an opportunity to celebrate the exceptional teachers and educational innovators at ANU.

"It takes knowledge, time, care and imagination to meet the challenges that continue to face teaching within universities, and I am really pleased that so many of our staff have those qualities in abundance," he said.

"Teachers nurture the minds of the leaders and innovators of the future. The legacy of teaching excellence goes well beyond the present, as teachers inspire, lead, motivate, encourage and assist the students of today to reach their potential."

The awards included the first award for excellence in Indigenous Education.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Marnie Hughes-Warrington congratulated Dr Bruce Doran and Mr Dean Matthews, from the Fenner School of Environment and Society on the award.

"Their teaching draws upon a collaboration with a remote Indigenous community, the Yawuru, traditional owners of the Broome Region, Western Australia. It has been instrumental in the development of a new cross-college course on Indigenous natural resource and cultural management," she said.

Nominations are made by Colleges and include the previous year's recipients.

Recipients of the 2016 Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education

Awards for Teaching Excellence

·         Dr Gemma Betros, School of History.

·         Dr Joanne Wallis, Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre.

Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning

·         Professionalism and Leadership Theme, Years 3-4, the ANU Medical School.

·         Military and Defence Studies Program, Coral Bell School of Asia Pacific Affairs, Strategic and Defence Studies Centre.

Award for Indigenous Education

·         Dr Bruce Doran and Mr Dean Matthews, Fenner School of Environment and Society.

Awards for Excellence in Supervision

·         Professor Peter Kanowski, Fenner School of Environment and Society, CMBE, and Master of University House.

·         Associate Professor Rosanne Kennedy, School of Literature, Languages and Linguistics.

Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning

·         Dr Alexandra Webb, Medical School.

·         Dr Tamara Browne, Research School of Biology, Early Career Category.

·         Dr Bjorn Dressel and Ms Sarah Cameron, Crawford School of Public Policy, Early Career Category.

Awards for Excellence in Tutoring or Demonstrating

·         Mr Timothy Hatfield, Research School of Psychology.

·         Ms Jeong Yoon Ku, School of Culture, History and Language.

·         Mr Chad Lee-Stronach, School of Philosophy.