Council News – October 2018

6 November 2018

Council Membership 

Council was pleased to welcome four new members to their first meeting; Professor Matthew Colless (who served on Council previously), Associate Professor Ben Corry and Dr Ceridwen (Crid) Fraser as Academic Staff representatives, and Mr Zyl Hovenga-Wauchope as the postgraduate student representative.  

This was also the final meeting for Ms Eleanor Kay, who has served with distinction since December 2017.  

Vice-Chancellor's Report

The Vice-Chancellor provided a detailed report about the Senior Management Group retreat in August, the budget, counselling services, Academic Autonomy and his keynote address to the Good Science = Good Business 2018 event in Singapore. 

Philanthropic Presentation - 3A Institute

Council welcomed Distinguished Professor Genevieve Bell who outlined the work of the 3A Institute and its mission to 'create a new applied science to manage cyber physical systems.' Just a year old, the Institute has already undergone significant expansion and is preparing to enrol its first cohort of students from 2019. 

Strategic item - University Experience

Council's strategic discussion topic was an update on the University Experience plan, delivered by the Pro Vice-Chancellor (University Experience), Professor Richard Baker.  His presentation emphasised the University's responsibility to Indigenous Australia, achieving equity within and beyond ANU and recent societal transformation initiatives.   

Kambri update

Council received an update on the Kambri redevelopment. It was noted that the project remains on schedule, with the opening scheduled for early February 2019. 

Other matters

Council considered the 2018 enrolment report and new Council committee memberships, and also accepted a range of governance related proposals.      

Mr Jim Clapper 

Following the meeting, Council met with Mr Jim Clapper, former US Director of National Intelligence and currently the Vice-Chancellor's Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the National Security College.

Council next meets on Friday 7 December 2018.  


Professor the Hon Gareth Evans AC QC