Australia Day honours for distinguished ANU staff and alumni

26 January 2019

When I heard I thought 'how does this happen to someone like me!'

The Australian National University (ANU) is delighted that a number of distinguished University staff and alumni have been recognised for their contribution to Australian society in the 2019 Australia Day Honours.

Director of the Tjabal Indigenous Higher Education Centre, Anne Martin, has been appointed a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of her service in supporting Indigenous students at ANU for many years.

Ms Martin is a proud Yuin woman of the NSW South Coast and a passionate advocate for Indigenous Australia. In addition to her role at the Tjabal Centre, Anne has been Co-Chair of the NAIDOC Committee since 2006.

Ms Martin said she was surprised at the honour, and dedicated the achievement to her family and friends.

"When I heard I thought 'how does this happen to someone like me!', I felt rather overwhelmed by it all," she said.

"This to me is a gift to my family, to my parents in particular.

"I would not be who I am today if it were not for the investment made by my mum and dad, who looked after my kids so I could go to university and become what I needed to be - a voice across the nation and the world for our people.

"This is about the love and support of my family and the incredible friends that have surrounded me across my career.

"In particular, people like Professor Richard Baker and our Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt who have been so supportive."

She said she finds her work at ANU incredibly rewarding, and is delighted to see so many talented Indigenous Australians pursuing higher education at ANU.

"I've watched our students coming through the door and finishing their degree program before going on to further education," Ms Martin said.

"That to me is incredibly inspiring because it means if we are looking at the next generation of Australian leaders, then they're at the top."

ANU Acting Vice-Chancellor Professor Mike Calford congratulated all the winners on their awards.

"On behalf of the University, I congratulate Anne and all ANU staff and alumni who have been recognised in this year's Australia Day honours. It is well deserved," he said.

"To have yet another strong ANU showing on the Honours list is a tremendous reflection of the University's commitment to being the very best at everything we do.

"The University is very proud of our staff, students and alumni, and the role they play in helping make Australia a better place for all."

Other members of the ANU community recognised in the Australia Day Honours include Seismologist Emeritus Professor Brian Kennett of the ANU Research School of Earth Sciences, Australian historian Professor Frank Bongiorno of the ANU School of History, Dr Wilfred L. F. Armarego of the ANU College of Health and Medicine, Dr Alison Broinowski of the School of Culture, History and Language, Dr Peter McCawley of the Crawford School of Public Policy, as well as ANU Medical School staff Professor Paul Pavli and Associate Professor Andrew Miller. 

The late Professor Patrick Troy was posthumously awarded an AC for his contributions to urban research.