ANU staff and alumni US bound after receiving scholarship

12 December 2018

A host of staff and alumni from The Australian National University (ANU) have been awarded Fulbright Scholarships to study in the United States in 2019.

Dr Andrew Carr, a Senior Lecturer with the ANU Strategic and Defence Studies Centre, will spend his time abroad at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

Dr Carr says he's deeply honoured to receive the Fulbright Professional Scholarship in Australian-U.S. Alliance Studies.

 "There is a proud tradition of Fulbright scholars addressing the biggest issues facing Australia and right now our relationship with America is near the top of the list," Dr Carr said.

"We Australians tell a story of Canberra always following Washington, but I don't think that is true. During my time in the US I want to explore how and where Australia has shown leadership and initiative.

In the 1940s and 1970s we had difficult conversations with America about how to re-shape our relationship to meet Australia's needs. We may need to do so again, and these examples will provide vital insights into how to manage changing expectations and responsibilities in the difficult years ahead."

The following 2019 scholars are also affiliated with ANU:

• Joyce Wu - Fulbright Scholar Award

• Prasanga Samarasinghe - Fulbright Future Scholarship (Postdoctoral)

• Mark Fabian - Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholarship

• Benjamin Sparkes - Fulbright Future Scholarship (Postdoctoral) - Graduated from ANU in 2013

• Benedict Scambary - Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholarship - Graduated from ANU in 2007

• Olivia Shen - Fulbright Professional Scholarship in Australian-U.S. Alliance Studies - Graduated from ANU in 2018

• Hugh Johnson - Fulbright Future Scholarship (Postgraduate)

• Xiao He (Helen) Zhang - Fulbright Anne Wexler Scholarship

• Sajeda Tuli - Fulbright Australian Capital Territory Scholarship - Graduated from ANU in 2009

The scholars will be recognised at the 2019 Fulbright Gala Presentation Dinner at Parliament House in Canberra on 28 February.

Two U.S. Fulbright Scholars, Raymond Taras and Stanley Schwartz, have elected to complete their program at ANU in 2019.

The Fulbright scholarship program was established in 1946 to increase binational research collaboration and cultural understanding.