ANU scientists honoured in Academy of Science Awards

24 November 2014

ANU scientists have been honoured for their contributions to maths and sciences, winning a host of major awards from the Australian Academy of Sciences.

Among the eight ANU scientists honoured was Associate Professor Kylie Catchpole from the Research School of Engineering, who won an inaugural John Booker Prize in engineering science.

Professor Denis Evans, from the ANU Research School of Chemistry, won the David Craig Medal for his career in research in chemistry, while Professor Alan McIntosh, from the Mathematical Sciences Institute, was a joint winner of the 2015 Hannan Medal for his career in mathematical sciences.

Distinguished Professor Graham Farquhar AO was honoured for his lifetime contribution to science, winning the prestigious 2016 Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture for scientific research at the highest level in biological sciences.

“I’m delighted to win this medal, the top award in biological science in the country,” said Professor Farquhar. “I’ve been lucky at ANU to work with good people, some since the seventies. I went to great lengths to keep them all together.”

Professor Farquhar earlier this year shared the 2014 Rank Prize with CSIRO Fellow Dr Richard Richards for their work on developing water-efficient wheat.

Associate Professor Catchpole was awarded the inaugural John Booker Medal for her contribution to solar energy research, which has focused on using nanotechnology to make solar cells cheaper and more efficient.

“I’m very happy that the work that we’ve been doing to make solar cells more efficient and cheaper has been recognised,” Associate Professor Catchpole said.

The Academy also honoured Dr Nerilie Abram from the Research School of Earth Sciences with the 2015 Dorothy Hill Award for female researchers in earth sciences, and Dr Scott Morrison from the Mathematical Sciences Institute as a joint winner of the 2015 Christopher Heyde Medal for mathematical sciences.

In the research awards Robyn Shaw and PhD student Melissa Wynn from the Fenner School of Environment and Society, were among the co-winners of the Margaret Middleton Fund for endangered Australian native animals.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young AO congratulated all the winners.

“The range of winners demonstrates the breadth of excellence of ANU research and underlines the University’s reputation and focus on solving the challenges facing Australia and the world,” Professor Young said.

“These awards are well-earned recognition for their hard work and dedication.”

The awards will be presented to the winners at the Academy’s annual three day celebration of Australian science, Science at the Shine Dome.

The full list of winners is at the Australian Academy of Sciences website.

The Academy previously announced Professor Kurt Lambeck AO, from the Research School of Earth Sciences, as winner of the 2015 Matthew Flinders Medal and Lecture for research of the highest standing in the physical sciences.