ANU appoints Michael Kyrios to head Psychology

31 March 2014

Professor Michael Kyrios has been appointed Director of the Research School of Psychology in the ANU College of Medicine, Biology and Environment, Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young AO has announced.

Professor Kyrios, who will succeed retiring Director Professor Don Byrne, has been a Professor of Psychology in the Faculty of Life and Social Sciences at Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne, where he has also been Director of the University's Brain and Psychological Sciences Centre.

He will also start a two-year period as President of the Australian Psychological Society from September this year.

"Dr Kyrios has a strong research interest in depression, anxiety disorders, obsessive compulsive spectrum disorders, chronic medical illnesses and evidence-based psychological treatments, with an excellent body of published research," Professor Young said.

"ANU has a proud track record in psychology research and we are delighted to have Professor Kyrios join the University."

The appointment is one of a series of significant appointments made by ANU in the past six months, including Professor Shirley Leitch as Deputy Dean of the College of Business and Economics, Professor John Hewson and Professor Miranda Stewart to the Tax and Transfer Institute, Professor Michael Raupach as the Executive Director of the ANU Climate Change Institute and Professor Archie Clements as Director of the Research School of Population Health.

More high profile appointments are expected in coming months as the University fills positions made available through the Academic Renewal Scheme.