2019 Tuckwell Scholarship recipients announced

17 July 2018

Twenty-five remarkable students have become The Australian National University (ANU) Tuckwell Scholarship recipients following the final stage of assessment last week.

The 2019 round of Tuckwell Scholars hail from all around Australia, including Mount Isa, Yeppoon, Tamworth, Bathurst, Nambour and Moruya.

The students will receive over $21,000 per year for up to five years for their study costs, and participate in a program of academic and social enrichment designed by current Tuckwell Scholars and supported by a team of academic and professional staff.

The Tuckwell Scholarship is funded by the generous philanthropy of Graham and Louise Tuckwell whose vision for the scholarship program is to help talented and motivated students through their tertiary studies and inspire them to fulfil their potential and reinvest their knowledge, skills and experience in ways that positively benefit others.

"Each year we receive applications from hundreds of students all around Australia who are seeking support to receive the best education in the country at ANU," Mr Tuckwell said. 

"The Tuckwell Scholarship is designed to help students achieve their goals, and to also instil the values of education, determination and grit that are integral to success in life."

The cohort for 2019 bring a diversity of skills and backgrounds. There is an aspiring astronomer with a passion for mixed martial arts; an AFL player who balances her commitments as school captain with her local youth orchestra and swimming club; and a student who will have visited Tehran to participate in the International Biology Olympiad before even getting to ANU.

ANU Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian Schmidt AC said the University community is richer for having such talented students from around Australia join the campus.

"As the national university, ANU welcomes students from across the nation. Many of the 2019 Tuckwell Scholars come from regional Australia and their experiences add to the tapestry of student life at ANU.

"They bring with them not just academic excellence, but different perspectives from their life outside the capital cities. This is what university life is about - expanding our horizons and learning from others," Professor Schmidt said.

Following assessment of written applications, a shortlist of 75 applicants are interviewed in Canberra, and spend time experiencing campus life and enjoying the sights of Canberra.

The scholarship program was funded in 2013 and has supported 110 current students and seven alumni.

Student name

School name


Fergus Abbott

St Aloysius College


Stephanie Barton

Wellington Point State High School


Michael Brazier

Redcliffe State High School


Finlay Dennison

Pittwater House Grammar School


Ethan Farrelly

Spinifex State College


Laura Ferguson

Loreto Kirribilli


Eleanor George

McCarthy Catholic College


Thomas Gilbert

Normanhurst Boys High School


Oliver Hervir

Sydney Grammar School


Jemima Jeffree

Indooroopilly State High School


Cole Johnson

Fort Street High School


Max Kirkby

Prince Alfred College


Jessica Law

University High School


Luka Mijnarends

Nambour State High School


Charles O'Neill

All Saints College Bathurst


Ellie Randall

Fairholme College


Wyatt Raynal

Eltham College of Education


Martha Reece

Hunter School of Performing Arts


Riley Smithers

Pimlico State High School


Zachary Steyn

Yeppoon State High School


Olivia Taifalos

Cairns State High School


Sebastian Tierney

Xavier College Senior Campus


Grace Underhill

Northern Beaches Secondary College Manly


Maxwell Vidler

St Paul's School


Jaxsen Wells

Carroll College


For media assistance, contact the ANU Media Team on +61 2 6125 7979 or at media@anu.edu.au.