Students awarded 2019 Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship

27 February 2019

Postgraduate ANU students Medha Majumdar and Talia Melsom have won prestigious 2019 Westpac Future Leader Scholarships.

Westpac Scholars Trust CEO, Susan Bannigan, says the scholarship program attracts some of Australia's brightest and most innovative young leaders.

"Amongst our 2019 recipients we have doctors, teachers, engineers and an aspiring neuroscientist - all working on research projects that have the potential to shape our future," she said.

Medha is undertaking her PhD in how rapid economic growth has shaped political development in India, and aspires to develop government policy aimed at creating a strong, ongoing relationship between Australia and India.

Talia is completing her Master of International and Development Economics and seeks to contribute towards Australia's future economic growth by exploring trade opportunities with Asia and issues in development economics in the Asia Pacific.

Each scholarship recipient receives up to $120,000 to cover their postgraduate studies, a nine-month bespoke leadership development program and the opportunity to study abroad.

Recipients also gain lifelong access to the Westpac 100 Scholars Network. Growing by 100 scholars a year across five scholarship programs, the network connects outstanding scholars with the ideas and drive to help shape a better future for all Australians.

Page owner: Philanthropy