Five ANU alumni among finalists in ACT Australian of the Year awards

15 October 2015

Five ANU alumni - former chief of the Army Lieutenant General  David Morrison AO (BA '79) (Australian of the Year ACT), ACT Human Rights Commissioner and the Discrimination Commissioner Dr Helen Watchirs (MPubLaw '92, PhD '02) (Australian of the Year ACT), former support worker for Karinya House for Mothers and Babies and a doctor at Calvary Hospital Dr Kate Eisenberg (MBBS'13) (Young Australian of the Year ACT), conductor, composer and performer Leonard Weiss (Bachelor of Music '14) (Young Australian of the Year ACT) and volunteer fundraiser David Richards (GDLP Hons '96, LLB '96) (Australia's Local Hero ACT) - have been named as finalists for the ACT Australian of the Year awards.

The ACT finalists are among more than 120 great Australians being recognised as State and Territory finalists in the Australian of the Year Awards.

The award recipients will be announced on Monday 2 November at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra.

The national Australian of the Year Awards are announced ahead of Australia Day in 2016.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit

Page owner: Alumni