Alumnus Larry Sitsky wins 2015 Distinguished Service to Australian Music Award

3 August 2015

Musician Larry Sitsky (DFA '97) turned 80 last year, an occasion marked with appropriate fanfare. There were tributes and concerts aplenty to celebrate the works and career of the prolific composer and dedicated teacher who was a founding member of the Canberra School of Music in 1965. He had already been made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2000.

And the honours haven't stopped. Next Tuesday, Sitsky will be the recipient of the 2015 Distinguished Service to Australian Music Award from APRA AMCOS. He will receive the honour at the 2015 ART Music Awards ceremony at Sydney's City Recital Hall on Tuesday, August 11. The previous winners of the award from the amalgamation of the Australasian Performing Right Association and Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners' Society have been John Hopkins and Patrick Thomas (2011), Peter Sculthorpe (2012), George Dreyfus (2013) and Richard Gill (2014).

Read more

Page owner: Alumni