Alumni Notes September 2017

11 September 2017

ANU is proud of the extraordinary global achievements of the alumni community. If you have received an award, changed jobs or careers, or have any other professional or personal highlights you want to share with the alumni community, please contact the Alumni Relations team by email

Alumna and current PhD student Francesca Maclean (BSc/Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) '13) has been named one of Australia's 30 female Superstars of STEM. The award, announced by the Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science Senator the Hon Arthur Sinodinos, will see Ms Maclean undergo training and development in media and public speaking to help inspire more women to take up study and careers in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM).

Dr Jodie Ward (BSc(Hons) '03, PhD '07) and Dr Kate Grarock (PhD '14) have also been named among  Australia's 30 female Superstars of STEM. Jodie is currently the Team Leader of NSW Health Pathology's Specialist DNA Laboratory at the Forensic & Analytical Science Service and she is passionate about using forensic science to help make a difference to people's lives. Kate has developed a highly successful education program that focuses on sharing science with policy makers, local community, early career researchers and students from preschool to university.

Law alumnus Tuimalealiifano A V Eti (LLB '86) has been elected as the new Head of State of Samoa. Tuimalealiifano will serve a term of five years with outgoing Head of State, Tuiatua Tupua Tamasese Efi, expected to leave his position on July 27. Tuimalealiifano holds one of the four Tama-a-Aiga paramount chiefly titles in Samoa - the others being Tupua Tamasese, Malietoa and Mata'afa.

Emeritus Professor Bill Caelli, AO (PhD '72) has been awarded the Founders Medal for Exceptional Service to Cybersecurity Education by the USA Colloquium for Information Systems Security Education.

Berlin-based Melbourne artist Catherine Evans (BSc/BAsianStudies(Hindi) '05) received a 2017 Georges Mora Fellowship and will undertake a three-month, full-time residency at the State Library of Victoria. She will use the State Library of Victoria collections to develop her most ambitious project to date, an installation artwork titled The View from Mount Disappointment.

2015 ANU Young Alumnus of the Year joint recipient Henry Makeham (LLB(Hons) '10, BAsianStudies(Chinese)(Hons) '11, GDLP '14) has joined Asia Society's Class of 2017 Asia 21 Young Leaders Initiative. The Asia 21 Young Leaders Initiative stands as the Asia-Pacific's foremost young leaders network.

ANU Law graduate Prashant Kelshiker (LLB (Hons) '17, B International Relations '17) has turned his London legal internship into a working trip to the UK for the rest of the year, after he was invited back to work in the Cornerstone Barristers chambers.

A public service shuffle recently had a few alumni switching into different roles and departments.

Finn Pratt (BA '83) has moved from the Department of Social Services to become secretary of Environment and Energy.

Dr Heather Smith PSM (MEc '90, PhD '94) is moving from Communications and the Arts to become secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.

Renée Leon PSM (BA (Hons) '93, LLB (Hons) '93) will leave Employment, moving on to take over Human Services.

Kerri Hartland (MLegS(PL) '96) has been appointed secretary of Employment.

James Renwick (BEc '84) has been named as the independent national security legislation monitor.

Dr Steven Kennedy PSM (MEc '97, PhD '02) has taken over as secretary of Infrastructure and Regional Development.

Glenys Beauchamp PSM (BEc '77) has been appointed to lead the Department of Health and Ageing.

Page owner: Alumni