Alumni Notes February 2018

28 February 2018

ANU is proud of the extraordinary global achievements of the alumni community. If you have received an award, changed jobs or careers, or have any other professional or personal highlights you want to share with the alumni community, please contact the Alumni Relations team by email

CAP alumnus Jason Abbruzzese (MIA (Hons) '08), formerly the business editor for Mashable, has joined NBC News Digital as a Senior Tech Editor. Jason will oversee the coverage of the business of tech and media and its impact on people's daily lives.

Eko Sumando (MIntDevEc (Hons) '15), who works for the Directorate General of Treasury, Finance Ministry in Indonesia, writes about how his country's government can improve cash management.

School of Music alumnus Reuben Lewis (BMus (Hons) '11), who is now based in Melbourne, recently returned back to Canberra to bring his 'psychadelic jazz collective' to perform at the Ainslie Arts Centre.

CASS alumnus and comedian Hannah Gadsby (BA '03) takes a closer look at one of the most enduring subjects in western art history - the nude.

ANU academic and alumna Dr Virginia Marshall (LLM '03), has been honoured by Canada's University of Victoria for outstanding research achievements by a female scholar.

Matthew Jacob (B PPE Hons '17) a high-achieving former Tuckwell Scholarship recipient will now take on a research position at Stanford University. Matthew will spend at least six months as a Pre-Doctoral Research Fellow at the Stanford Institute of Economic Policy Research.

Astronomer Dr Chris Lidman (PhD '95) has been appointed by the University as the first Director of the ANU Siding Spring Observatory. Dr Lidman will oversee operations at the Observatory, which is home to more than 50 telescopes and is an important site for global astronomy, astrophysics and space science in Australia.

Research School of Electrical, Energy and Materials Engineering (RSEEME)'s Dr Xiangyun (Sean) Zhou (BE (Hons) '07, PhD '10) has been announced as Best Young Researcher of the Asia-Pacific region in 2017 by the IEEE Communications society Asia-Pacific Board. Dr Zhou received the award in recognition of his contribution and leadership within the field physical-layer security research.

Five ANU alumni and current ANU lecturers have won coveted 2017 Australian Awards for Teaching honours. Those honoured were Associate Professor Katrina Anderson (ANU Medical School; BA '00, GradDipPsych/BSc '03, PhD '09), Dr Jason Payne (ANU Research School of Social Sciences; MPubPol (Hons) '05, PhD '14), Dr Anna Von Reibnitz (ANU Research School of Finance, Actuarial Studies & Statistics; Bcomm (Hons) '09, BEc/PhD '13), Jeremy Smith (ANU Research School of Engineering; BInfTech '96, BE (Hons) '98, MPhil '09, GradCertHE '14), and Dr John Debs (ANU Research School of Physics and Engineering; PhD '12).

Guy Leedon (AssocDeg '11, PhB (Hons) '14) will be the envy of his PhD colleagues and supervisors in May, when he heads off to France to further his research into wine marketing and the sustainability practices of the wine industry. His research specifically looks at the concept of 'terroir' - the idea that environmental factors like climate and soil, combined with the values and farming practices of the local community, determine the taste of a wine.

Page owner: Alumni