Alumni Notes December 2014

12 December 2014

ANU is proud of the extraordinary global achievements of the alumni community.  Some of these accolades are told to us or make the news at ANU, throughout Australia and abroad.

If you have received an award, changed jobs or careers, or have any other professional or personal highlights you want to share with the alumni community please contact the Alumni Relations team by email.

Carl Belle (BA ‘77) has a book Tragic Orphans: Indians in Malaysia being published by the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies Singapore in the coming months. Carl, who was given Professorial status by the Institute in 2010, is working on his fourth book on the Hindu festival of Thaipusam.

Rupert Boyd (BMus (Hons) ’04) and Jacob Cordover (BMus (Hons) ’04) The Australian Guitar Duo performed 15 concerts in 24 days across six states. This year Rupert also celebrated 10 years as a performer in North America.

Dr Lachlan Blackhall (PhD ’11) was named as a finalist in the 2015 ACT Young Australian of the Year Awards.

Jacqueline Bradley (BA Visual (Hons) ‘07) has won the Harris Hobbs Small Sculpture Prize for her sculpture ‘Softly’ - a pair of shoes attached to the wall, made of woollen felt, piano hammers, wood, cotton webbing, epoxy and women’s leather shoes.

Sarah Cameron (MStudies '12) will call Cambridge, Massachusetts home for five months next year after being awarded a Visiting Fellowship at Harvard University. Sarah, a member of the ANU Young Alumni Council, is investigating the impact of the recent Global Financial Crisis on political behaviour in a comparative study of 15 democratic countries.

Brad Carron-Arthur (BPsych (Hons) ’11)  won the Sri Chinmoy Canberra Centenary Race, where he ran an astonishing 100km in 9 hours 45 minutes!  Brad is just getting back into running again after his incredible Canberra to Cape York run in 2012, where over four months he averaged around 50km per day for five days each week to raise money for mental health. He also managed 48 minutes at City2Surf 2014!

Timothy Coghlan (BAsianStudies (Chinese) '03, BEc '03) was named as a finalist at The Australia-China Achievement Awards. The Awards celebrate the successes of Australian organisations and individuals in advancing Australia-China relations. Based in Beijing, Tim Coghlan, a member of the ANU International Alumni Council, is an expert in the field of Chinese consumers, China market entry, expansion and retail strategies for fashion and retail brands and related services in China. Tim is a guest speaker at the 2014 Graduation celebrations and we look forward to welcoming him back to ANU.

Emeritus Professor Peter Drysdale AM FASSA (PhD '68) has been recognised for his works in the study of economic policy in Japan and East Asia, the formation of APEC, and economic exchange between Australia and Japan by receiving the 2014 Japan Foundation Award.

Theresa Foo (BA (Oriental Studies) ’66) was recently honoured with a prestigious Meritorious Service Medal by the Singaporean Government, awarded to those who have made outstanding contributions to Singapore.  Ms Foo, amongst the University’s first international students, has had an illustrious banking career spanning 35 years. In 1977 she was the first woman in the Bank of America’s Singapore operations to be made a vice president and in 1994 she became Standard Chartered Bank’s first Asian female chief executive. Ms Foo is a strong supporter and promoter of the arts and was recognised in Singapore as Champion of the Arts in 2001. This year she was also inducted into the Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame.

Shane Gill (LLB '92) has been welcomed as the new president of the ACT Bar Association. Mr Gill is now one of the youngest presidents in the history of the ACT Bar.

Chris Hughes (BA ’95) writes, “My wife Sally Rudd and I were both at ANU in the late 80s/early 90s and were in the same Sociology Honours class in 1993. We had our first child in 1997, second in 2001 and third one while we were in London on a four year stretch in 2006. At the end of last year we relocated to Yangon, Myanmar where I came to establish an office for global law firm Baker & McKenzie - it's our 16th in the Asia Pacific region and 75th around the world. Myanmar is going through an incredible transition at the moment and it's great to be up here and part of it.  It has certainly re-awoken the sociologist in both Sally and I and we're both very thankful to have had the benefit of such a great education at the ANU.”

Dr Keith Johnson (PhD ‘71) recently won the Overseas Entry section of the Pendle War Poetry Competition.

Mark Loong (GDLP ’14) is the recipient of the Global Voices National Scholarship. He will join three other Australian delegates at the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change 20th Conference of the Parties in Peru this month.

Michelle Melbourne (BSc '91) and Phillip Williamson (BSc '88, GradCertMgt '03) donated high-technology software to help the University streamline its administration processes. The gift from their Canberra-based company Intelledox is worth more than $1 million, and will see ANU digitalising manual paper-based processes.

Professor Kate McGrath (PhD ‘95) has been appointed Victoria University of Wellington’s first Vice-Provost (Research). Professor McGrath, a professor in Victoria’s School of Chemical and Physical Science, is currently director of the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnologies which is based at Victoria and is one of New Zealand’s six Centres of Research Excellence.

Lieutenant-General David Morrison AO (BA ’79), Australia’s Chief of Army, was named as a finalist in the 2015 ACT Australian of the Year Awards.

The Honourable Geoffrey Nettle QC (BEc ’73) has been appointed to the High Court of Australia. Justice Nettle has been a member of the Victorian Supreme Court since 2002 following a successful career as a leading Queen’s Counsel at the Victorian bar.He is the second ANU alumnus to be appointed a High Court Justice following Justice Gageler’s appointment in 2012.

Myles O’Neill (BSc (Adv) (Hons) ’12) and Luke English (BSc (Hons) ’13) co-founders of Thylacine Games, launched a Kickstarter campaign for a new card game called Dragon Racer. Myles and Luke were runners up at InnovationACT in 2012, receiving $10,000 towards their venture, and they have been developing their game since then. Current ANU art student, Rose Hammer, has recently been recruited by Myles and Luke to design the artwork for the game.

Amin Palangi (BA (Hons) ’06, PhD ’14) won best documentary at November’s Canberra International Film Festival for his film Love Marriage in Kabul.

Andrew Pike (BA Hons '69, MA '73) and ANU Professor Ann McGrath, who co-produced a Message from Mungo, a film seven years in the making, won the 2014 UN Association of Australia Media Award for Promotion of Indigenous Recognition.

Michael Thawley AO (BA (Hons) ’72) was recently appointed Secretary, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet. He served as Australia’s Ambassador to the United States between 2000 and 2005, during which time Australia successfully concluded the Australia-US Free Trade Agreement. Michael is a former resident of Burton and Garran Hall.

Professor David Walker (PhD ’73) was a finalist in the 2014 Australia China Alumni Award for Research and Innovation. Professor Walker is a Visiting Professor in the School of Foreign Studies at Renmin University, and BHP Billiton Chair of Australian Studies at Peking University.

JuE Wong (BA (Hons) ’87), 2014 International Alumnus of the Year, has won a prestigious Gold Stevie Award for Women in Business.

Page owner: Alumni