Alumni Notes August 2015

24 August 2015

ANU is proud of the extraordinary global achievements of the alumni community. If you have received an award, changed jobs or careers, or have any other professional or personal highlights you want to share with the alumni community, please contact the Alumni Relations team by email.

  • Professor H. Yuan Tien (PhD '60) has released a new book 'The Party Empire: Saga of a Nightmare'.
  • Tim Mayfield (BA '10, MMECAS '12) was appointed as the new National Director of the Australian Republican Movement.
  • Sotiris Dounoukos (BA '96, LLB (Hons) '96, GDLP '96) won the Dendy Live Action Short Award at the Sydney Film Festival and Best Short Film at the St Kilda Film Festival for his film 'A Single Body'.
  • Lea Armstrong (BA (Hons) '89, LLB (Hons) '90) has been appointed as New South Wales's first female crown solicitor.
  • Dr David Ham (BSc (Hons) '01, LLB '03) was awarded the 2015 J.H Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software.
  • Professor Yiping Huang (PhD '94) was appointed as an Adviser to the People's Bank of China Monetary Policy Committee.
  • Dr Philip Batterham (PhD '11) was awarded the Commonwealth Health Minister's Award for Excellence in Health and Medical Research. Dr Batterham, who was granted a NHMRC Career Development Fellowship in October, is developing an online program that aims to treat or reduce the symptoms of multiple mental disorders.
  • Ms Kirstie Rea (BA (Visual) (Hons) '87) was awarded the Canberra Glassworks Creative Fellowship. Kirstie is a glass artist who has worked in Australia, Canada, the US and Europe. She has been praised for her spare, minimal work which is included in the permanent collections of places like the Victoria & Albert Museum in London, and the NGA.
  • Three ANU alumni were awarded Australian Research Council Australian Laureate Fellowships. Professor Lisa Kewley's (PhD '02) fellowship project uses 3D technology to trace how the building blocks of life formed from the infant universe to today. Professor Ping Koy Lam's (MSc '96, PhD '99) project will examine how macroscopic objects can be levitated using only laser beams. Professor Benjamin Andrew's (BSc (Hons) '90, PhD '93) research will look at how nonlinear partial differential equations can exploit new and innovative mathematical methods. ANU has now received 21 Australian Laureate Fellowships, more than any other Australian university, since the scheme started in 2009.
  • Emerita Professor Mary O'Kane (PhD '82) was named in Engineers Australia's list of 2015 Top 100 Most Influential Engineers. Professor O'Kane is currently New South Wales' Chief Scientist & Engineer.
  • Mr Christopher Langman (BA (Hons) '83) was appointed as Australia's next Ambassador to Iraq.
  • Professor Bruce Chapman AM (BEc (Hons) '74) has been named as the 2015 Distinguished Fellow of the Economics Society of Australia. Professor Chapman was recognised for his contributions to economics and society over more than three decades including his pioneering work on designing the Australian Higher Education Contribution Scheme (HECS). 
  • Professor Matthew Bailes (PhD '90) is being dubbed as Australian's Alien Hunter! Soon after receiving news that he was awarded a 2015 Laureate Fellowship, he was asked to lead the Australian arm of an international team that will endeavour to find alien life. The search for aliens has been made possible by the US$100 million ($136 million) donation from Russian internet billionaire Yuri Milner who has the backing of Stephen Hawking.
  • 2014 ANU International Alumnus of the Year, JuE Wong (BA (Hons) '86), has been appointed as President of global cosmetics company, Elizabeth Arden.
  • Dr Rhondda Dickson PSM (BSc (Hons) '74, PhD '84) has been appointed to the position of Deputy Secretary of the Office of Environmental Science and Economics at the Department of the Environment. She has worked in Public Sector natural resource management for more than 15 years.
  • Dr Colin Jackson (PhD '07) has been named the ACT Scientist of the Year. The award was presented by alumnus and ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr (BA '96) during National Science Week, in recognition of Dr Jackson's work, which covers areas as diverse as ageing, poisons, agriculture and disease. Read more

  • Dr Sophie Lewis (PhD '11) was presented with the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (AMOS) Early Career Researcher Award for her work in climate science. Read more

  • Alumnus Dr John Carty (PhD '12) has curated a new exhibition at The National Museum of Australia 'Kaninjaku: Stories from the Canning Stock Route'. The exhibition reimagines the world's longest historic stock route through the paintings of the Aboriginal people whose land it cut through. Read more

Page owner: Alumni